Sort:  

Usually yes.
It will decrease once Hard Fork 20 will be enacted.
Then it will favor big self voters even more than it does now, assuming they use timely automation of their self votes.

you should write a post with all the details. I would be interested in learning more.

First, read steemitblog's blog if you are still uninformed about Hard Fork 20.
Then, since immediate self votes and immediate bot votes that were better than immediate self votes will lose their current charm, one will have to self vote close to the 15 mark, and probably before it to make sure.
I suffer from trailing curation bots that try to steal a tiny part of my rewards for themselves, so I will self downvote like I will do to this comment and remove my own downvote later, just because it still wards off some of them.
Then, I will remove my self downvote and change it to a self upvote later, while no curation trail bot stole my rewards.
Obviously I will not treat a genuine nearly full, or at least big enough vote from a genuine person the same as I treat these 50% from a 15SP accounts with less than 90% of their voting power, or a tinier fraction from bigger accounts.
Now, immediate self votes and immediate bot votes are the way to go, since they reward the author both the autho rewards and a majority of the curation rewards.
Current situation makes curation much less profitable than what it was initially supposed to be, which was still mostly less profitable than author rewards.

interesting, I will have to read more about the changes.

You got a 41.85% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @fersher!

This comment has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @fersher.

Bids above 0.05 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 25.00% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @fersher! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

You got a 66.67% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @fersher!

It's the only way they can feel like they've said something smart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16