You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discussion - Towards the Future: Creating a better World We All Want to Live In

in #discussion7 years ago

Wow. You opened a can of worms here my friend, but I know you are well aware of that hahaha...

A better world leaves a lot of room for many experiences that make people subjectively happy and content. For example, I do not choose to romantically interact with men, but I believe that other men should be free to do that if they choose. Additionally, I do not believe in any religions nor do I find them useful, but I know that others must be free to choose these ideologies. The idea of having romantic interests in men or devoting yourself to Christianity aren't inherently good or bad, but they bring about subjective experiences of happiness and contentment for many.

I think this points at liberty being very central to any kind of "better" world. We certainly won't agree on how to live our lives, so we must allow a lot of wiggle room for humanity to express itself in a multitude of ways.

I know. Liberty can be a double-edged sword. But for the sake of simplicity, I won't get into much more on that topic. I do believe that liberty brings about a lot more good than it does bad.

So, yes. Liberty must prevail.

Sort:  

Thanks for being part of exploring the topic! A lot of people aren't actually brave enough because we have to commit to something beyond simply pointing out that something is wrong and we want something better.

Its is, indeed, a very subjective experience. I also agree that a certain degree of "freedom" is needed, and that freedom can possibly be arrived at by consensus. Of course, one of the aspects of freedom is that we must also have the experience/wisdom to handle it constructively rather than DEstructively. When pressed, a lot of people see a one-way street... they should be "free" to have their beliefs, but those with differing beliefs should be "restricted." Which, of course, ISN'T actually "freedom."

All in all, it's a challenging topic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44