Art: discover your body week 3, knees.

in #discoveryourbody7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2190.JPG

I'm sad that I was too busy to partake in last week's lower legs competition. But I'm back for week three with some knees for you! This painting is part of a continuous series I've been working on for some time. Playing with the female figure and textured backgrounds. This is a small piece (only 6"x 8") and was painted with oil. I forgot to take a picture of the initial sketch, I'll try to remember to come back and post one later. But here is a photo of the tracing paper I used to do a carbon transfer of the drawing onto the canvas:

IMG_3443.JPG

After transferring the sketch I usually paint the figures first. As you can see I'm usually working on a bunch of projects at once, and I'm not always great at remembering to take process photos (I get caught up in the zone while working on art). But I did manage to grab one of a few of the pieces I was working on:

IMG_1446.JPG

Once the figure dried a bit, I went to work on the background using mostly a palate knife:

IMG_2175.JPG

IMG_2191.JPG

I hope you like it! Interested in taking part in the discover your body contest? You can find the details here
.
.
.
Check out some more of my recent posts:
Travel: Mardi Gras and Carnival in New Orleans
Travel: Sunio and the Temple of Poseidon in Greece.
Photography: Inner demons portrait series
Travel: The Santa Fe mountains

.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Virtual Assistance
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy

Sort:  

Really lovely textures, I love using a palette knife. I love how the figure sinks into the surroundings she being more smooth.

thank you so much! The palate knife is quickly becoming a favorite tool of mine!

Hi! 😃
Love that moonlight expressionist effect 😸

Thank you so much!

WOW. an extraordinary participation.
I then I do not have no luck! :D
I congratulate you :) I really like you

thank you! And I’m sure you have a chance...the winners of the previous weeks have been incredibly diverse. Did you enter, I looked for your entry on your profile but couldn’t find it!

Dear Artist ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

You're greaaat artist! Nice artwork

thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by terminalblue from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52