Travel: Sounio and the Temple of Poseidon

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

On the first Sunday of every month during the slow season in Athens, all of the ruin sites have free admission. I finally got a chance to take advantage of it yesterday by visiting the archaeological site of Sounio in the southern tip of the Attica peninsula, about a 45 minute drive from Athens. If you're visiting Athens and looking for a nice day trip, this would be a great pick. After the ruins, stop in Lavrio for some fresh seafood and a glass or two of ouzo.

The area was home to a large naval port, small city, and temples devoted to Poseidon and Athena in ancient times. Some remains from the city and Athena's temple can still be seen, but the most impressive structure is definitely the Temple of Poseidon. Situated on top of a hill with the sea in the background, its one of the most impressive ruin sites in the Attica region.

I decided to finally take my real digital camera out again (Canon 5D) and managed to snap a few decent pictures before my camera ran into a problem with the mirror coming loose. So these will be the last photos I'm able to take with the 5D until I can find a good local repair shop. Luckily I'm pretty happy with some of them. Plus, a bonus rare picture of me courtesy of the husband :)

The day was rather rainy and quite dark and overcast, making for rather moody photos. I think I'm going to try and make it back on the next free day for some sunset photos!

Hope you enjoy!

poseidon web.jpg

p2 web.jpg

p6 web.jpg

p5 web.jpg

p3 web2.jpg

p4 web.jpg

.
.
.
Check out some more of my recent posts:
Photography: Inner demons portrait series
Travel: The Santa Fe mountains
Wine and Music: Moerae (End/Vacantfield/Awe split) album review and wine pairing

.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Virtual Assistance
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy

Sort:  

impressive :)
great pictures !!!
followed :)

thank you so much! following back :)

Athens is on my high priority travel list. Never knew about the free admissions, that is such a good information to have.

Really like the photos and it is nice to see these ruins in that rainy mood.

Have a great day!

Thank you! Its a great city, you should definitely visit!

I love anciet greek history and all of its remainings. I wish one day i could go there and explore it by myself :) Great photos btw! :)

Thank you! You should definitely visit one day!

I like the dark backgrounds, especially in the first photo. I think the overcast skies adds a touch of drama to the ruins. I'd love to know what the bird is - maybe a type of partridge?

I'm honestly not sure what kind of bird it is. There were tons of them there though! I'll let you know if I figure it out.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by terminalblue from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Love these photos. The grey sky behind the temple stone is very cool. I didn't know this before, it appears that the columns are built from smaller blocks stacked together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90