DiscoverYourBody | Knees, Falling and Getting Back Up

in #discoveryourbody6 years ago (edited)

@yoganarchista's contest is leading me to discover what the different parts of my body mean to me. Last week's theme was lower legs which I associated with Lindy Hop, dancing and Sunday night. This week's theme is knees.

beesknees.jpg

When I was 9, I used to get on my bicycle and be off to 'discover the neighbourhood'. During one of these expeditions, I took a shortcut to my house through a park, where bicycles are not allowed. Naturally, I paid no attention and rode through. The parks paths were sandy, I was a tad too small for my bicycle. I eventually lost balance, skid and fell. I scraped my knees open so badly that you could almost see the bone. I picked myself up and wheeled home to a house full of shocked guests and a concerned mother. To me, it seemed like I would never get on my bicycle again, but the wounds healed and I was soon discovering other parts of my neighbourhood again. I never cycled through the park though.

In some ways, it's how I look at life now. You fall, you get hurt. But you heal and your scars tell a story. To me, you see the fall in your knees - from bloody to bruisy to mended. I took this idea and made this sketch which then transformed into the sketch above.

knees steemit.jpg

Sort:  

so pretty friend!

Why thank you!

¡Hermoso! tanto la ilustración como su significado. Me gusta el estilo de dibujo que estas manejando. Suerte =)

I had to translate that seeing that my Spanish is (very) limited. thank you so much!!

Mi ingles también es bastante limitado, por eso prefiero escribir en español o bien usar el google traductor. Pero no se que disparates resulten de eso.

My English is also quite limited, which is why I prefer to write in Spanish or use the google translator.(But I do not know what triggers results from that) hahaha.

But how amazing is it that we can talk to each other in two different languages and still understand each other because of technology. Continue commenting in Spanish! Maybe the translations will not be exact but atleast we can communicate :)

Pero qué sorprendente es que podamos hablar entre nosotros en dos idiomas diferentes y todavía entendernos por la tecnología. ¡Continúa comentando en español! Tal vez las traducciones no serán perfectas, pero al menos podemos comunicarnos :)

Very interesting concept!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87