DiscoveryYourBody | Lower Legs and Lindy Hop

in #discoveryourbody6 years ago (edited)

Yes, I do more than just #drawdiction!

@yoganarchista has an amazing contest going on where you discover your body part by part for fourteen weeks.

I am generally really bad at drawing the human body. My feet and hands usually end up looking a little alien-ish. I've been wanting to participate in this week's theme - Lower Legs - since the beginning of the week but my laptop gave up on me and after multiple trips to the service center, I finally had to put it to rest and buy a new one. (This is also why my #drawdiction posts have been sporadic).

Anyway, my new Macbook Pro (I've gone over to the dark side) came a few hours ago, just as I finished my sketches for lower legs. I'm a bit late to submit it for the contest but I'm not really doing the drawings just for the contest. I think it's a wonderful way to discover my own body and what each part means to me.

Lower Legs

I started Lindy Hopping nearly a year ago in Mumbai. I went for a class on a whim one day just because I wanted to do something new. I discovered that I didn't actually have two left feet. Lindy is an amazing dance form; you don't actually need to be graceful or follow too many rules or remember a lot many steps. My instructor took me through the basics - Rock step, triple step, triple step, rock step, triple step, triple step. Every Sunday, there would be socials at different venues across Mumbai where I would repeat 'rock step, triple step, triple step' in my head as I nervously tried not to bump into others or step on my partner's feet. Amazingly, I didn't. I soon learnt to let go and dance freely. Sunday evenings were exclusively for Lindy Hop, a space where I could clear my mind and hang out with the nicest people.

Once you become a little better at the basic footwork, you use your legs to style the steps and it's often seen in the lower legs. Swivels are possibly the most fun (quite difficult to begin with) stylisation for a follow. I haven't mastered it yet but it's what comes to mind when I think of my lower legs.

So I drew some swivels and hopefully my legs will pay attention and follow soon.


Watercolour and ink on paper

Sort:  

These came out rather nicely! Never heard of that dance before, it sounds like my kinda thing as this is the kinda dancing I do,
tenor.gif
Teach me someday, lol.

Duuuuude. Where were you at new year's?! I was dancing Lindy then! Yes, let's dance when I'm back.

Haha, so many things happened that night you can't expect me to remember it all. I do remember you singing in French though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69