My life with cerebral palsy

in #disabilities8 years ago

A few years ago I had àn idea to do work with the White House. I had no idea what role but I thought with my disability "maybe I could work on a project that involved the disability community. So I searched the Iñternet and found a lead person that was in charge of disabilities services for the Obama administration. I sent a random email expressing my desire to somehow lend a hand....I waited months but no reply.

Until one day I opened up my email to find an invitation to join President Obama as he resigned the Americans with Disabilities Act. It was an amazing feeling to stand on the same grounds as John F Kennedy, Franklin D. Roosevelt and other past Presidents.

I didn't get a chance to actually work with the administration but for this kid born with Cerebral Palsy. Sitting on the south lawn of the White House was still pretty good. Never give up on your dreams

Sort:  

I think it's great how sometimes when we just put it out there, we can move on and forget about it and if something good comes back it's all the sweeter. It sounds like you had a fun adventure, did you get to speak with the president?

Congratulations @tmoorernyc! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54