Diaries of a working nomad, part 1: Wanderlust

in #digital6 years ago (edited)

open-uri20170711-21379-1odmrxq.jpg

I am one of those people living in a constant state of wanderlust and actually making it happen. After more than a decade working in studios and ‘being stuck’ in a workspace, I made working from everywhere the norm. I honestly feel like a waste of time traveling from and back to work, spending Sunday night stressing about the 9am meeting I can’t get in late Monday morning … it was one of the best decisions in my life to go ‘fully remote’ and most of my clients do take it as a good thing since I am familiar with so many cultures and meet the most interesting people along the way that it does have an effect on the way I write - some say I can think a bit more ‘out of the box’ than the average and have no problems coming back to the box after and adapting my work to the mainstream. And by that I want to say; we are our experiences, the ‘remote worker living in wanderlust life’ is not as glamorous as it sounds, we do have hard times too, especially finding a place to live where you can also work, applying for visas and adapting to the local lifestyle. Many tales from these subjects are already on my ‘to write about list’ guys!

My mum is proud to say she raised me in airports and airplanes. I certainly got the travel bug from her! Now in my late 30’s, I have already lived - which by ‘lived’ I mean to say I spent a few years, got to know (and still have many friends’s all over the world!) people and did work for local companies - in Australia, Bali, Thailand, Germany, and now, have just relocated to Portugal.

Why Portugal? I get this question a few times per week from clients and people I know. Well, first because I was born in Brazil and learned Portuguese in my childhood. I consider it a beautiful language and haven’t been speaking much of it since I moved to Australia about 16 years ago. I do speak English since I was a kid too, and it does make life easier, that's for sure!

As a resourceful freelancer, I follow leads and like going to places that are starting to develop their tech and startup scenes. Here in Lisbon, things are moving fast in the past 2 years! For more that I loved living in Berlin and meet many people in the industry, the market became too saturated and with so many people moving to Berlin to get a piece of pie, it didn’t take long for jobs being almost all gone to very young, hungry and qualified people willing to work literally for peanuts. I simply cannot compete with young Millennials. I have bills to pay, and it took me years to get my experience guys! Have you ever had to compete with someone younger who wants to work almost for free - I guess this is a topic for another article :)

So, back to Portugal; I think Lisbon will become the new Berlin and the technology/startup scene is starting to boom over here - keep tuned! Plus the quality of life is fantastic, rent is cheap, food is great and cheap, healthcare is great (and cheap!) and the sun shines most of the time. Jezz, how did I miss the sunlight in Berlin!

So, nice to meet everybody here and feel free to say hi and start a conversation about the topic. I hope to be writing here regularly. Hello from Lisbon! :) xx!

Sort:  

Congratulations @deamazing, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @deamazing! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @deamazing! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75