Art and Digital Art

in #digital-art7 years ago

Art and Digital Art, I have noticed that some steemians use the terms interchangeably.
A drawing software has a pencil drawing tool, so when the poster says pencil drawing without indicating that the pencil in this case is a virtual pencil and not a real one does not constitute a crime or fraud or plagiarism. To me that is fine, Art is Art.

But to make the job of the people who have to track plagiarism and fraud on this platform easier, it would be better for posters to use two categories: #art and #digital-art . There is nothing wrong with using both at the same time.

Whether you draw with a real pencil or a virtual one the end product is your masterpiece.
You have the right to post it, and get upvotes from your followers/fans.

If the work is derived from another source and modified considerably there is no need to include an attribution, but it would be a nice gesture to do so. Attribution works in your favor as well.

Digital art is not to be taken lightly, and does not indicate less talent, there is a big market for digital art, there are also people who master it. No need to claim the art was done by hand.

Notice this image below was supplied by the artist without the requirement for attribution and free for commercial use. If I take this image and modify it by some software, the resulting product will be my work and will not need any attribution.

But if I use language to indicate the image was drawn by hand using a paint brush and water colors on canvas. Then I am asking for trouble. Removing the original artist signature if it exists constitutes fraud, regardless if you modify the image considerably or not, a signature on an artwork means the artist is not giving up his right for attribution.

There is no need to get into arguments when someone points out the language used to describe your work might is fraudulent. If he is wrong explain why, if he is right apologize and promise a change. Things will move on smoothly for you. I have not seen some one who refuses criticism and decides to go on an ego trip instead succeed. Take a step back and correct, then steem on.

@joseph

Sort:  

Very nice post

Sorry, I cannot see your distinction.

Most of my pieces today start off with pencil or pen on paper, scanned into a computer, cleaned up and then altered and colored. I do not know what you would term this as.

To me, digital-art is taking several computer images and manipulating them into a new piece. At its core, this is the realm of all memes. It is a type of art, but is definitely not a hand drawn piece.

There's a difference between graphic design and digital art. A meme is an example of graphic design.

To me there is no distinction at all. I have pointed out where the issues would come up. Let's say you started your work without pencil/pen and paper and done all the work with software, it's still art but it would be better to include the #digital-art tag so no one assumes a claim the work was done by hand. If you do not use the tag that's also fine. It gets weird however when there is obvious steps where digital software was used and the post says painted by hand on canvas. So tagging #art and #digital-art in this case makes sense.

I guess I should add. I'll start with a blank digital canvas and use my hands to manipulate virtual tools. Digital art is in fact done by hand. The same way you typed your response.

The digital artist produces their art. They don't draw or paint. There's also a difference between a digital artist and a graphic designer. That's something I should probably write about some day.

it would be great to know more about the distinctions. But the purpose of my post is only to have less drama when the line is drawn in the sand. We had some issues with what is presented as art, to me personally a meme is a form of art, so I am not against anything posted as art, because it is subjective to the poster and for some a pile of junk can be considered art, this is literally true I have seen it on the streets of New York. When I hear the word meme the last thing that will come to my mind is graphic design :D so I will be waiting for your article about the distinctions, please let me know if you get to writing it.

A meme is art. So is a doodle on an envelope. A line drawn in the sand, that's art too! Writing that has been on my mind for a long time but I'm always distracted by doing something creative instead. I'll give you a heads up, if I get around to it, no promises I will though!

Beautiful and unique photo.

As long as user are aware of the source shouldn't be much of an issue. If one states that it's traced, then that's fine. There are some that try to pass a traced image off as their own creation and that is not right.

I tag my work with #digitalart , I get the view that it is really art and I also get the view that because I did it digitally its not really a painting etc. An since I do not want others to assume that I am fraudulently claiming that my art is art in the classical mediums I tag it with #digitalart.

That's interesting, I think that most problems will be solved when blockchain-based attribution systems will be commonly used by artists.... maybe also blockchain-based ownership "titles" could be useful, both for digital and physical works.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53