Eat Fat To Lose Fat! No...Really!

in #diet7 years ago

Okay, I'm not a young guy and the older I get the harder it has been to lose weight and stay fit. I've been doing the green smoothing thing for better than a decade but it seemed like they have been less and less effective. Of course just drinking green kale smoothies alone isn't going to make anyone the picture of health but the rest of my diet was pretty decent as well and I was just not losing any weight and I needed to lose about 25-35 pounds to be at my ideal weight.

Anyway, a while back I read this book, "The Big Fat Surprise: Why Butter, Meat, and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet". It made a lot of sense and so I decided to give it a try. After cutting out all grains and sugars; eating grass-fed beef and dairy products; drinking coffee with butter and coconut oil; eating eggs and bacon and drowning my veggies and everything else in tons of Kerry Gold butter for thirty days, I lost 25 pounds! And the best thing about it was that I didn't even miss the bread and sugar and I still don't. Furthermore, my wife, who has not been able to lose even a pound for the last decade no matter how hard she tried also, lost 25 pounds.

This Low Carb - High Fat diet is something I can (and will) actually live on long term. The Banting Diet, the Keto Diet and the Bullet Proof diets are all high fat - low carb diets - just pick one. They all have their roots in the Atkins Diet but whereas, Atkins focused more on protein, these diets focus on good fat and yes, that includes animal fat. Fat is very satiating and really knocks out the carb cravings too.

The idea is that most people get their energy from sugars/carbs instead of from fat which is a much better source of energy for humans. Once you cut out the sugars for a time your body goes into ketosis and starts burning fat for energy and once that process starts it just keeps going.

I believe that we've been deceived by the "health care cartel". Big pharma, in cahoots with big government and decades of bad studies that have led to wrong headed conclusions about FAT, especially saturated fats, have been foisted upon the public in order to keep the health care cartels rolling in cash. The whole "low fat" diet mantra is, in my opinion, bologna and there's plenty of proof both historical and contemporary to prove it.

Anyway, I'm not an expert but I've been studying health and diet for about thirty years now and I've had to change my mind a few times about what I thought was a healthy diet and once again I find that after examining the evidence and actually trying the low carb - high fat diet myself... well, I'm convinced. You can make up your own mind. Read the book I mentioned above. It's very enlightening.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeffg! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jeffg! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36