You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humans are not herbivores

in #diet7 years ago

I remember watching a reel to reel film in elementary school in the early 1980s. It was a video on how Eskimos / Inuit Indians survive.

They certainly don't do it by eating vegetation. They do however, survive by eating a lot of raw meat. Eyeballs are considered like candy to them.

One would ask how do they avoid scurvy and other vitamin deficiencies? The truth of the matter is most of those nutrients and substances are COOKED out of the meat. By eating it raw they get all of the nutrients they need.

Now that isn't to say we should all start eating meat raw. The environment your meat is raised in is very important. Raw meat is a quick path to many types of parasites. Some of them very dangerous. The more we manipulate the environment, inject animals with all kinds of substances, and feed vegetarian animals grain mixed with ground up members of their own species the more WEIRD things happen with our food. So I am not advocating eating any raw meat.

If you were a hunter hunting out in the wilds it might be okay, but you could still end up with some parasites. Tape Worms, etc. That's how they spread. You could get the same by ordering your meat too rare. It is a risk people are often willing to take for their flavor.

Another tid bit I remember from that video. Don't eat Polar Bear LIVER. Why? It has an over abundance of vitamin A and you can overdose and kill yourself. :)

Nice post. Resteemed.

Sort:  

Raw meat is fine - just make sure you freeze the meat first to kill any parasites

Good point. I hadn't considered that.

looks exciting. Steak tartare. Did you eat it? :p

That one isn't my own photo, but yes I have had a very similar meal a few times - although I prefer cooked really!

that looks nice. proper pink with a nice tasty outer yum

Thanks for the resteem and brilliant comment. I didn't know that about polar bears -- will avoid eating that from now on :D

Couldn't agree more -- the food available to us now (mostly) as been messed around with. It's poisonous and junky. I'm lucky to buy from a great farm not too far from me. All the animals are ancient breeds, fed their natural diet and not pumped full of drugs. They're humanely slaughtered too. Their raw milk and cream is to die for too.

Yes, raw organ meat is hugely nutritious. I've not tried it yet (too squeamish), but it's something to consider in the future.

I often joke when I see some type of animal I haven't eaten by saying "Hmmm... I wonder what that tastes like."

Haha what's the weirdest one you've eaten? I've not even tried kangaroo or crocodile yet. Or oysters :O

I've had oysters.... raw I dislike a lot. IT's like someone hocked a loogie down your throat. I eat them smoked though.

I had Cougar/Mountain Lion sausage once. I haven't been to many exotic places, I've never been to the ocean.

Elk, Deer, Antelope, Pork, Chicken, Turkey, Fish (various kinds), Shark, Kalamari, Sushi, Cougar, Crab, Lobster, Shrimp, Bison, Scallops, Crayfish, a few insects, some other birds, beef.

And likely some I am forgetting about. Yet really not that many.

Eewwww that sounds horrific (oysters)

Wow, didn't know you could eat lion or that they made them into sausages. Cool.

Yep, you've deffo eaten more weird stuff than I have.

I wanna upvote you but I've got super-low voting power at the mo. So, here's a smiley face for now :D

Never been to the ocean? Holy cow, I've never not been next to the ocean, being landlocked would suck...

Checks to make sure ocean is still there :)

Hehe. I've spent all but 4 1/2 years of my life living in Colorado. I've been to Houston which is the closest I ever actually came to an "ocean" though I'm often told the Gulf is not much of an "ocean" experience.

I have wanted to travel the Oregon coast sometime as I really like the images I've seen from that. I don't care about swimming, sun bathing, etc. I just like to take in scenery and experiences.

Some day hopefully I'll get around to doing this.

I don't like swimming either - on the odd occasions I've fallen in, Wellington water is freezing - it comes straight up from Antarctica - so even on a hot day the water feels cold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61