a post with no pics?!

in #diet3 years ago

I am definitely the type of person to pass on a blog post with no pictures. I mean, if I wanted to just read, I'd grab a book, right?
Well, this old computer I am using is such a brat about opening files and such ...and I really just wanted to typity-type right now, so there will be no pictures today.

And what pictures would I even put in a post about feelings, anyway?

I am just a couple days into my second week of a 12 week workout challenge. The challenge: to workout 5 days a week.
I used to get by just knowing I had a workout to look forward to each day. The feeling of strength and empowerment I used to get from working out was such a high. These days, while I still love the feeling of getting through a workout, I enter into the endeavor with a sense of uncertainty of what I will feel like afterwards. Will my knees get that random pulling sensation across the knee cap? Will my legs be able to carry me back up the basement stairs when I'm through?
But I know it is important, as I creep up on my 50th year, that I take care to build muscle and strong bones so that I do not go through old age with a hump and a walker.
This is very important to me.

In addition, I am struggling to figure out what combination of foods and macros and vitamins and minerals and omegas and ...ugh, the list!! ...how do I need to eat? What is most beneficial for my body composition and current hormone situation?
Keeping in mind that I do not regularly (in fact, never) visit a doctor. Now this is not a religion thing or a lack of insurance thing. I simply grew up in a family situation where doctors were for emergencies. Once fully immunized as a child I think I went to see a doctor 3 other times. When I broke my finger in 6th grade, when I got 'Mono' in 7th grade and then when I needed a physical to join the tennis team in 12th grade. Oh, and then once more to get booster shots to enter my freshman year of university.
It's just not a habit for me, so I have yet to find a NEED to get a GP.
So here I am simply experimenting and doing what seems like the right thing for me.
And so far, a week and a half into a fairly strict keto diet plan, my hands are less puffy and I feel less bloated. Sugar cravings are gone and I am rarely truly hungry (which means snacking has also stopped). When I say 'fairly strict' I mean hubby is okay to make whatever he wants for dinner and I make my decision about bread, pasta or other such complex carbs for myself, with the rest of my day pretty much void of such things.

To help out with all the dietary experimenting and added workouts, I have also decided to cut out 'the drink' as much as possible too. Originally it was going to be a one night a week thing...Friday pizza and game night. But then I'd end up also having a cocktail the next day because ...well, Saturday! Then it expanded to Tuesday nights because I have Wednesdays off and hubby goes out Tuesday nights.
You can see how it really snowballs for me!
So instead I have been alcohol free for nearly 2 weeks, deciding that it is easier for me to concentrate on dietary changes when I'm not drinking and sabotaging my own efforts.

I guess this post could've had a picture of someone working out...or eating a piece of pizza...or passed out from too much drinking.
But I also don't really dig post full of random stock photos, so I'd rather go without.

Besides, this is really for me, isn't it?
Who really wants to read about some old lady's struggle with losing the 30+ pounds she can't shake because she's peri-menopausal!?

so...good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67