to clear up some confusionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diaf7 years ago

My official statement:

If you are a bigot, and you insist on making bigoted statements instead of educating yourself about why bigotry is idiotic:

Please die in a fire.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, a lot of bigots don't realise their bigotry. Most of the times, it's not malice, but rather just ignorance. Some weird variant of the Dunning-Kruger effect. Hence, they can't educate themselves about a concept they have no understanding of.

Of course, there are the malicious assholes who could die in a fire, indeed, but in most cases they may just be victims of their society.

Thus, a noble person would go out of their way to educate them. I'm not that person, of course, I'd rather avoid bigots like plague.

I am waiting for your education regarding your flagging of my post that mentions vaccine science.

Unfortunately, a lot of bigots don't realise their bigotry. Most of the times, it's not malice, but rather just ignorance. Some weird variant of the Dunning-Kruger effect.

I swear some of you posters crack me up 😂. Talk about using scientific model extrapolated to explain age old wisdom (aka. don't throw pearls as swine)

Of course, there are the malicious assholes who could die in a fire, indeed, but in most cases they may just be victims of their society.

hehe😆😂..... social media lynching. Up-Voted!

Bigot:

a person who is intolerant towards those holding different opinions.

Like someone who flags people who don't like the new logo? People like that, @sneak?

😆😜....you're subtle @schattenjaeger. Wait...are you guys all posting these marvelous respond as your super high reps protect you from rebuttal?

Too late I replied already without thinking of repercussion......oh well. Up-Voted for Fabulous Observations

I pretty much also dislike the new logo. But can't make me a bigot.

To further clear up some "confusion" -

A user was flagged by Sneak and told to die in a fire because they had stated that the new Steemit logo and color scheme "looked gay."

I'm not sure how that becomes "bigotry." Was it a poor choice of words? Perhaps. But you'd think that the CTO of Steemit, Inc. would have the sense to not be dragged into some pissing match over words that are pretty harmless in the grand scheme of things.

My suggestion:

Grow up...or perhaps stop using social media?

You represent your company and your behavior on your company's app/website has been pretty poor overall - and is often at its worst when problems with development/communication and your app/website are frustrating the community.

Good comment.
I don't want to take sides here or debate.
However, watching the steemfest videos... I must say that @sneak behaves very strangely. He is in constant belief that he is the center of attention. Interrupts people quite a lot. Condescending to some audience members as they ask questions. Makes some very odd 'jokes', and overall carries himself like someone with sociopath tendencies.

He no doubt has talents in development and has steemit's best interest at heart but @ned should keep a watchful eye. Specially when such individual is in a high position. Erratic behaiviour and an unstable mind could put the team in a position of damage control. Once the SMT project gains weight, there will be a lot more at stake. Public Image is going to matter immensely.

Generally speaking, you don't fight hate with hate. The hater is already where they want to be. You however, descend down to their level.. and then must work hard to try to return to decency.

the only 'hate' in play was the person didn't like the new logo and colour scheme. He used a poor choice of word in today's PC environment to express his dislike and for that was downvoted and then when he respectfully asked why he was downvoted he was accused of hate speech told to Die In A Fire (DIAF)... which was then repeated by the perpetrator in this post.

That comment is far more hateful speech then the original comment referring to the colour scheme as being "gay".

I do agree with your assessment of sneak and especially the role he plays. If he has talent in development the best place for him to be is likely well out of the public's eyes and ears.

You are right.

Though my last line was a broad statement.

Sneak's official post was not productive.
Completely makes his stance hypocritical really.

That is why I hope he can reanalyze and even put out an apology.
This might come back to haunt him in the future if he doesn't.

His conduct should be more professional and not driven by emotion.

I stand by everything I said. I still want bigots who insist on bigotry instead of education for themselves to die in a fire.

If you think that’s worse than flagging someone for using slurs, you’re vastly ignorant of history.

You know that gays actually refer to themselves as such, right? I'm also fairly certain that comment wasn't directed at a person, so who are you getting offended for?

What do people need education about having an opinion on the color and design of the new logo?

I never had issue with the flagging.
We are all free to exercise that right.

History does not hold strict rule on words either.
They evolve through time just like society does.

When analysed from a truth and definitive view.
It's not the word, but manner of usage that matters.

Which is what really determines the intent.
In the logo reference. It was hardly intended as hate.

Clearly the work of a sick and deranged panel moderator, interrupting other people. :D

lol I see your point and retract the sociopath assumption.
I'm not against you. You're a bubbly guy. I'm looking out for you man.

Community and leadership really needs a more harmonious existence on steemit.
That is the message that the people have asked me to deliver.
Because I moonlight as a prophet.
They call me Mahamanoid.

You are not looking out for me by policing my language by insinuating that I owe anyone an apology for calling out hateful, bigoted assholes.

Defending those who use hateful slurs is not a good look. It is you who should reconsider.

No man. I am not one who finds the use of 'gay' offensive or hateful within the context in question. As @ats-david said. Poor choice of words yes.

Anyway I thought you were CTO. This is the only reason why I believed an apology would reflect better in the future. However, I observed you clarify elsewhere that you do not represent steemit Inc. So then for that. You owe no one an apology.

I don't even defend. I simply accept. Any form of speech. I don't believe free speech means freedom to hate or has exemption from repercussion though. Consequence is another matter entirely.

He's an employee of Steemit Inc in a high level position posting on Steemit ... he can deny all he wants that he represents Steemit. The fact is that he does and he lacks the intelligence to recognize the fact that his deplorable conduct reflects on his employer.

His employer may not care ... others do whether he likes it or not.

wow. beautiful comment.

I cannot upvote this nearly enough.

Followed you man! Im at 3332 followers! haha

hey man i am glad I know you BEFORE I saw your post here! @sneak should come and talk in steemspeak.com and actually improve his image! I care about stakeholders as big as him!

Hey @ats-david, I hate to jump in here but I think someone may be posing as you in Steemit Chat, or did you really offer me some free Steem this morning ? Just wanted to let you know if it wasn't you, they have your name and photo from your page.

Yeah, it wasn’t me. They’ve been banned already, I think.

This just happened about 4 hours ago. So if they have been banned that was quick work to get it done. I can post a copy of the chat if you need it .

No, I’ve already seen it. Chat mods have already told me about it, so I’m assuming it’s been handled.

Okay, good day.

Whoever told you I was the CTO was lying or mistaken. I have never been an officer of Steemit Inc and I do not speak for the company, only myself.

http://bfy.tw/F31M

It's all over the place, actually. It's not just me. Many witnesses on Steemit.chat also have the same understanding. You might need to make a more public clarification since everyone seems to think the opposite of what you're saying here. These are just a few examples:

@sneak - Steemit, Inc's CTO

https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=SteemFest%C2%B2

Steemit SF is incredibly excited to bring you Steemit Founder and CEO Ned Scott (@ned) and Steemit CTO, Jeffrey Paul (@sneak).

https://www.meetup.com/steemitsf/events/243999974/

A week or 2 ago, @sneak, the CTO of Steemit, inc gave us a surprise visit over at @steemspeak and shared some info.

https://steemit.com/steem/@bitcoinparadise/why-steem-is-not-just-steemit-com

Music Mix: Steemit CTO Jeffrey Paul (@sneak).

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@streemmusic/steemfest-after-show-party

A selfie session with @serejandmyself (CEO of golos.fund) and @sneak (CTO of Steemit inc.)

https://golos.io/ru--delegat/@arcange/steemfest-2-v-lissabone-vtoroi-den

I just did—there is no ambiguity in my comment. You’re acting in bad faith. This and all further instances will be flagged.

Feel free to continue on your own blog where I won’t read it.

with all the official statements identifying you as CTO of Steemit Inc... you are either feeding us a line of BS or Ned came to his senses and let you go. Enlighten us.

Flagged For Abusive Behavior!

I know, it sad, but he can afford to get flaged, when whales flag inncoent minnows it makes the whole platfporm look bad,,.. people go on Youtuibe and will make a Video about how steemit has "censorship" which is not true buit in teh minds of the sheeple the rules are steem are too complicated for them to understand.... so they jump to conclusions and think these big accounts are "Admins" which teha re not but they go around acting like thi which is fine if they are responsible... but dude if I was in Sneaks position I woudl actua.y be working a little harder...

social life is not some vague oblivious thing you can just pretend you dont need... if ur gona be this bittr and weird you shouldnt be an executive in a "SOCIAL" Networking platform

Everyone can "afford to get flagged" - flags do not take anything away from you.

@sneak whats up bro? I wanna give you some advice. if you don't stop now, you are risking your position! Steemit Inc can replace anyone and there is a LONG list of deserving people who would love to have your position... Your position in your Private steemit Inc is not Stake based like here... Ive heard some rumors about your replacement and how Nice of a Guy he is and how just having someone who people on the platform actually like and who doesn't so why throw you your reputation away? Come on man....... I like to help everyone though, so please dont be an SJW .... I would like to know if you think being a Social Justice Warrior is going to help you man... please just back down and realize when you have the entire platform calling you out to calm down and just.... stop with the stuff u will regret later! You cant delete these words OR edit them! I saved the for everyone to see because i know you're thinking of editing your post now if you are reading this..... how can you do this man??? you let us all down? why? WHY cant you just realize that just because you DONT owe us all a better user experience, just because you DONT owe us anything extra, doesn't mean you should completely screw us over in the sentimental value,.... the sentimental value could be through the roof! But you're not thinking long term

You shouldn't tell people to "Die in a Fire" ..... thats permanent.... its forever because i took a screenshot and you cant delete this....

Before you get mad at me, just remember, Ever meet my friends? @teamsteem @thejohalfiles @stellabelle @fyrtsikken @neoxian @inertia @adept @tj4real @mcsamm @xpency @freedom @sweetsssj @berniesanders etc etc

(Hey man just pretend to get mad and start some drama! We need drama on steemit, youtube thrives on it, nothing makes steemians more interested in the content than seeing the politics of steemit!!!! ;) Peace bro, just trying to get some attention since i didnt go to steem fest :D
(Don't worry im secretly on your side ;) were gonna fix ur image up and save your PR :D First think is change that name! Create a new account to dump this one out of and pour all into the new re branded New Sneak,... Maybe we can call you Jeff ... or Gary ...

He is an expert at rebranding rofl

You have a lot of mistaken assumptions in your comment. You should do more research on the topic you are making claims about.

You cant delete these words OR edit them!

I wish I'd known that before I made the post. /s

Telling someone to die in a fire might just be textbook bigotry:

bigotry
ˈbɪɡətri
noun

intolerance towards those who hold different opinions from oneself.

How dare you talk to our CTO like that! You deserve to have your entire account flagged for that disrespect! In fact, sneak might just ban you for that!

Oh wait nevermind youre right, hah hey look im the first Highest Account to Flag this hatespeech!

Sorry to have to one up you, but it's for a good cause:
Removing this type of abuse from the platform.

Far be it from me to think that Steemit Inc employees should be bigger than to engage in this type of conversation to begin with. This is not the attitude of a professional company, but that of a 17 year old kid who stumbled upon something awesome while living in mom's basement. You may be a nerdy genius, but you have some learning to do about empathy and professionalism.

Such kind words, let us start a fire together and cleanse this place of us.

Stop shit posting. You have a lot of issues and shouldn't have anything to do with Steem or SteemIt. Such Official!!!

Everybody has a right to have their opinion.
I might see things differently the way you see them but that doesn't we should be bigot. We should respect other people's opinions.
P:S I am not a bigot.
And yeah burn them in fire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31