Why Steem is not Just Steemit.com

in #steem7 years ago

Most of us were drawn to the Steem platform by using Steemit.com. However, many of the newer users don't realize that Steem is the blockchain, and Steemit.com is just a web frontend known as Condenser, that is run by Steemit, inc to access data from the blockchain and interact with it.


https://steemit.com/steemitdev/@steemitdev/steem-blockchain-update-august-2017

So it's not just Steemit.com, there are many other frontends a Steemian can use if they prefer a different interaction with the platform and different features.

Steem has grown so quickly in the past year and a half. Over 365,000 accounts and it's just getting started.

A week or 2 ago, @sneak, the CTO of Steemit, inc gave us a surprise visit over at @steemspeak and shared some info. Sorry, I don't have any recordings of the conversation but just going by recollection. There was an interesting discussion on how there is a trust factor with Steemit, inc and that from a security aspect, there are some users that don't trust using other frontends and only trust Steemit.com as being the main one. Sneak gave what I thought was a great answer from what I remembered and I am not sure if this is the exact quote so Sneak you are welcome to correct me.

"Our goal is not to make Steemit.com the main frontend to use. If we did, then we wouldn't be doing our job."

I agree.

I am sure over time, other frontends will gain the trust of users. Steem is so diverse and there is nothing stopping someone to create their own frontend with their own features. This is currently the only public content platform that is capable of doing this with a blockchain. Also competing with other frontends will lead to more innovation.

Just look how much this platform has grown.

Web Frontends

Steemit.com

Busy.org

Chainbb.com

Zappl.io(Open Beta Release on Sept. 18)

Mobile Apps


eSteem
Steepshot

Zappl

There are more in the works and maybe some that I might have missed but things are only going to get better.

So I wanted to ask you fellow Steemians:

  • Which are you using?

  • If you haven't tried the others, which are you looking forward to using?

  • What about the one you are using do you like about it?

For those that of you are new,

Welcome to the Steem Blockchain


Thank you for taking the time to read my post. Feel free to follow and find me in SteemSpeak on Discord.
Sort:  

Very well punctuated. You're very smart, and I'm glad to follow you

A good, well presented reminded that the Steem blockchain has much more going on that just steemit.com - and this is after only a year! :D

It's growing fast. Do you have any frontends you like to use?

its mainly steemit.com for me. I'll use eSteam sometimes on the phone but find it a bit clunky still.

Happy to see other front-ends available though and looking forward to what else is coming. cheers!

Yea same here. Although other frontends have lots of other great features, there's just something about the original.

Thanks for the comment.

I wish i could resteem an old post! @bitcoinparadise please repost these things man i need to resteem, or hey wanna do a new collection of infographics?

I will pay fivver peopel to actuyally make ANIMATIONS of these or maybe @web-gnar wants to try? i just nee dto do SIMPLE non stylized ANIMATIONS of these graphics! i guess it can have style but has to match these infographics!

Thanks man. Yeah I've been starting to get back into blogging so maybe I'll do a new one of this post.

I appreciate the positive comment.

Yes, in places it's actually better on safari/iPhone than on the PC. Cheers!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@bitcoinparadise I like your submit. I have followed you.

@bitcoinparadise Thanks for sharing. Love it. Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50