What I learned from being a python developer on freelancer.com

in #developing7 years ago (edited)

After 8 months of working as a python developer on freelancer.com this what I’ve learned. 

What is Freelancer.com

If you don’t know what freelancer.com is it’s an online job platform that connects employers to workers. Employers post a project and people bid on the projects with how much money they will do it for and why they should choose you to do the job.  

Starting out

When I first started I bid on a few projects and didn’t get anywhere… I think all new people trying to find work on freelancer.com have this trouble, being new they have no reviews and no proven experience, which are some important things employers look for when they’re hiring. When I got my first job my employer even said that he was taking a risk in hiring me. I completed the first project in the given amount time (and a little more) and I have been working with that same employer ever since. I have currently completed 10 projects and counting over the last 8 months. Which compare to other freelancers is very little. Some people use freelancer.com as their full-time job, I was just doing it to get more programming experience and earn a little extra money.  

How it helped me

Before I joined I wasn’t very confident in my programming abilities, and I wanted to test my programming knowledge and I found a project that struck an interest in me and I did a lot of research before I submitted my bid. Once I got hired, my programming confidence greatly increased. 

Another thing I learned is that being a programmer doesn’t mean you know everything there is to know about that programming language. A big part of developing is googling problems and errors and how to use certain libraries. 

My tip to people new to freelancer.com who are struggling to get hired:

Keep trying, I joined freelancer in October of 2015 and didn’t get hired until the next year, mostly because I stopped trying after a while and then started bidding again a few months later. But keep trying and keep bidding. Make sure to write long convincing proposals and eventually you will succeed. Overall, Freelancer.com is a great platform for people to work from home and gain experience.
 

Thanks for reading. please follow me, upvote this, and resteem.

if you would like to leave me a tip in bitcoin at this address 13t1CDDy22z6DZif3ZGsAgXeHDuMfV3xFg
I would greatly appreciate it.

Sort:  

Hi, I upvoted and resteemed. I also posted something similar regarding a company called thumbtack. you can check it out here if you are interested. https://steemit.com/freelance/@crazydaze/freelance-work-website

Thanks, I'll check it out.

Congratulations @benlearns! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am considering some freelancer, but it seems really hard to get the first gig.

Might take your advice and just give it a couple of hours a day, apply to some stuff and see it happens.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75