Come And Visit Bad König, Odenwald In Germany

in #deutschland6 years ago (edited)

After my grandmother passed away, I spent a couple years of my childhood living in her house in Bad König, Odenwald. It wasn't until more than two decades later that I finally returned, and I was shocked by how many memories came flooding back. It was a visit long overdue, but if I'm being honest, I probably wouldn't have gone if not for that delicious Baumkuchen!

Bad Koenig

Bad König is situated right in the heart of the Odenwald, a region known for its hills and fresh air. It's a popular spot for city people to enjoy a weekend hike, delicious food, and of course beer. In fact, Bad König was also a popular Kurort. A Kur is a unique treatment vacation paid by the German healthcare system. If you're stressed out or anxious, you can apply for a rehabilitation vacation, of up to six weeks, paid for by the government. When I lived there, there was a beautiful resort in Bad König, and I was sad to see it has since closed down... often, when I'm feeling overworked and stressed, I imagined myself spending a little time there!

Bad Koenig Springs

Bad König was famous as a Kurort not just because of the nature and fresh air, but also because of its two natural springs, each of them offering different health benefits. Another interesting feature is the Therme, a water paradise, with pools containing different waters that have various therapeutic properties, saunas, massages and even a salt grotto. During my return to Bad König, I skipped on the Therme but went inside the Wandelhalle were you can drink from the two different spring fountains.

Bad Koenig

From there, I walked through the heart of Bad König's old town, the city castle, and past my old elementary school. I continued by walking up Forststrasse, even after the street becomes unpaved, where I enjoyed some amazing views. Soon the forest began, and I eventually stopped at one of the benches to enjoy the peaceful nature. The Kurort might be closed, but there is still plenty of restorative benefit to simply being in Bad König!

After my rest, I tracked back and took the path down the hill to the cemetery. Right behind this, I found a tiny stream, which I followed until landing back in the town center. Hungry, I sat down for a classic Schnitziel at the Deutscher Hof restaurant. For a post-meal Verdauungsspaziergang (digestion walk), I took a walk around the lake. (Verdauungsspaziergang has always been Mike's favorite German word, by the way.)

These days, Bad König has become a town of retirement homes, but it's still worth visiting for a long weekend, or even a short day trip. It's perfectly situated for enjoyable hikes, and makes a great base from which to explore other nearby towns, such as Michelstadt, Erbach or Miltenberg. In fact, I think the next time I visit, I'll go for a hike from Bad König to Momart, where I read about a farm producing goat cheese. And I don't think I'll wait 20 years before my next visit!

More Bad König Photos

Bad Koenig Odenwald



















































German Blogger

Travel Blog

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://for91days.com/blog/2018/09/06/come-and-visit-bad-konig-odenwald-in-germany/

Sort:  

Such laid-back photographs which is totally my thing. Thanks for sharing, @for91days! Those are really, really beautiful.

It means a lot to me - thank you so much!

lovely photos, but where are all the people? the streets are deserted.

Lovely photos, but
Where are all the people? the
Streets are deserted.

                 - claudiaz


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Peak summer vacation time in Germany - they all flew out :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=comeandvisitbadknigodenwaldingermany-pttysfh1qb


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That is really beautiful, look old style architecture, there are many great thing there, you are so luck @for91days. I love to see the grape, because we dont have it here. Wish you all the best

Thank you for stopping by - I totally understand how you feel when you see grapes. And on the other hand in your country so many to us exotic things are growing. Which amazes us being from Europe!

you are right @for91days, we always love to have something what we don't have at the moment.

Grape is the most expensive commodity in my place, especially black varieties.

this steemit allow us to exchange the information all over the world

have a great day

Looks like a lovely place to visit and relax in! And Verdauungsspaziergang is my new favourite word. I have no idea how to say it though :P

We went for one last night after dinner :)

I think I will need to adopt that routine! So often feel bloated, particularly after der küchen!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Hi @for91days!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.112 which ranks you at #3022 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3020).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 282 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71