10 Tips and Trix for a Successful Detox - Number 5 - Hit the sauna

in #detox7 years ago

Hello, my steemian friends,

So, we have talked a little bit about food and water during a detox.

But did you know that working out is not the only way to release the toxins your body clean out during a detox?
When you work out you will sweat out a lot of toxins. And it can start to smell really bad based on what kind of toxins you carry in your body. But do not let this scare you away from doing a detox. It’s a sign that the toxins are starting to leave your body. And that is really good.

pexels-photo-269110.jpg
Hit the sauna after your workout (Image from pexels)

After a workout, you will your body will continue to sweat for up to 30 minutes. This is a natural process that our bodies do to cool down.
within these 30 minutes, you should enter the sauna if your gym has one ( I think it should be mandatory for every gym :D).
This will help your body sweat out all the toxins and boost your blood circulation.

pexels-photo-416778.jpg
Mixing hot and cold help your body to recover faster from a workout

And if you want to take it one step further you should mix the sauna with a cold shower and do that a couple of times.
This is a technique used by athletes to boost their circulation and get a faster healing of their muscles. It helps to get rid of milk acid and increase the oxygen transported to the muscles. And therefore, they get better results from workouts and recover faster.

iceberg-antarctica-polar-blue-53389.jpg
Mix hot and cold showers

If your gym doesn’t have a sauna you can always mix hot and cold showers. Trust me you will get used to it. I even think it’s refreshing now :D

I hoped this help you with your detox and to recover faster from your workouts.

Lots of love to you all / Nicole

Sort:  

Feeling very blessed that our gym has a sauna and steam bath... it's so good for you! Great detoxing tip!

That is so nice :) I'm so jealous :)

I always try to mix hot and cold showers but I can't get higher than only my legs. Only in the summer months I can shower with cold water my whole body ^^ I think I will have to try it step by step ^^

It truly is a step by step process :D

Then I will have to stick to it ^^

What do they say? It takes 21 days to create a new habbit? :)
Good luck ;) <3

Interesting and useful article. What do you think of using hot shower in the morning after workout, which is right after the body created protective sebum on the skin, the hot water damages?

That is a really good question. And the bodys own moisturiser is always best. If you do workout in the morning and you tend to get dry skin after there is no harm in using a light natural moisturiser such as organic coconut oil.

Very good information my friend. As a pro basketball player, I can say you are right on the money. We do remove a lot of toxins from our body through sweat. And, if it does smell bad maybe your diet is not correct. The body always gives us so many signs when something is wrong. But, the question is are we listening or know how to listen?

I don't use the sauna, but I do use hot, and cold showers. They can be very effective as like you said can improve the circulation and blood flow to your muscles and resulting in faster recovery. :)

Great information, keep educating, have an amazing day. :)

Thank you I really appriciate your comment.

We are often way to busy to even start listening to our bodies. And often people distract themself with gaming, watching TV, eating junk food and so on.
We do this to ourselfs untill we don't know how to listen to our bodies any more.

That is why it's so important to get comfortable with yourself and your feelings.

I love to take hot and cold showers every now and then :).

Thank you again for your great comment :) Good to have you here :)

Did you ever notice that as a Vegan you smell better? I know I do and so does my family. When I used to work out as an omni I would sweat and have a BO smell which I thought was normal enough. Now as a Vegan I just don't smell sweaty like I used to! Win win!

Hahaha, yes I do actually. I have noticed it on my hubby too :D. And I do notice that after a change in my diet for the better my body cleans and I smell bad for a little while and then I'm back to normal. I love to see the transformation me and my boyfriend is going through and it will be so much fun to see where we are in a few years :)

Me too! I remember trying natural deodorant before going plant-based and thinking it didn't work. Now even when I have a really busy day in the gym I don't feel like I smell anywhere near like what I used to! The only time it seems to be bad is when I am really stressed.

I keep seeing things about cold showers and it being good for you, but I'm not quite sure I'm ready to try just yet! Maybe once summer comes. Haha!

Oh man, Typically after I work out and I've had my smoothme ill hop in the shower, hot at the start but I'll always do at least 1 min at the end that is as cold as the shower can go. Super refreshing!

Oh and on smelling better, Vegans also taste better, without being too crude.

Well I may curse my way through it, but I'll eventually give the cold water a try!

No dead flesh or rotting fish in our bodies, so we're just fresher all around! ;)

I use a natural salt deodorant now :) If you take it step by step you will get there :) Shower really hot and then you take it step by step colder :).

It's been a while since I was in sauna..........thanks for the reminder Nicole 🌸💗🌸

Your welcome ;)

Oh nice! When I was in Lappland a few weeks ago we headed to the sauna every evening. It was so nice.

I can imagine :) Did you do any snow baths? It's a Swedish practise along with the sauna here :)

Actually we walked around barefoot and dipped our face into the snow but not more :D

Haha, that is one way to do it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62802.36
ETH 2462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62