Introducing "Deskflip and Chill" Logo Design Contest

in #deskflipandchill6 years ago (edited)

Designing a logo is a lengthy process and not made less so if the idea isn't clear in your mind to begin with.

@techslut and @didic wrote in this post that they were going to start a new podcast named "Deskflip and Chill".

They did supply some examples of stuff they liked but I wanted to start my thought process from scratch.

The first thing that jumped out at me was the flipped desk so that is what I started with.

Desk Flip and Chill24.jpg

It seemed a bit lacking and I knew that the show would probably be dealing with geeky things so I thought I would add glasses.

Desk Flip and Chill25.jpg

And the other part of the name was of course 'chill' so I tried to shove that in as well.

Desk Flip and Chill26.jpg

Looks pretty bad, right? No matter, I just need to get back to the drawing board. Let's see. There is still the flipped desk but maybe they're using some beer to chill with.

Desk Flip and Chill3.jpg

Nope. That is still not it. Maybe I should try something with more color. Maybe try to take the 'chill' idea more literally, like I did with the flipped desk.

Desk Flip and Chill4.jpg

The text isn't really clear on this one so I tried again with a smaller, clearer text.

Desk Flip and Chill5.jpg

Nope. Still not working. Maybe I should try 'chill' in a spiritual sense, like in yoga.

Desk Flip and Chill6.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill7.jpg

Definitely not. It doesn't really transmit the idea across. Next I tried to use the text as my base, as if the words were the actual desk and I placed the two figures, male and female, on the 'flipped desk'.

Desk Flip and Chill8.jpg

Not quite there. Maybe some other silhouettes would work.

Desk Flip and Chill9.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill10.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill11.jpg

Ok, Ok. I need a new direction. Maybe something more simplified, like the motion of the desk as it was flipping.

Desk Flip and Chill12.jpg

At this point @techslut asked me why I was so stuck on the literal meaning of the flipped desk rather than on what it means - anger.
With that in mind I tried a different direction - an angry brain that is then chilled.

Desk Flip and Chill13.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill14.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill15.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill16.jpg

But again I was taking the idea of 'chill' too literally. I tried going in a new direction - maybe my idea of chilling with alcohol wasn't completely off base. I just need to find the right cocktail. Maybe a martini.

Desk Flip and Chill18.jpg

That looks better but the text is still wrong. I'll try a few more fonts.

Desk Flip and Chill19.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill20.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill21.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill22.jpg

Desk Flip and Chill23.jpg

Finally. That seems better. The text is large and clear, the image is distinct and recognizable. Now let's see what it looks like as an actual logo.

Deskflip black t-shirt.jpg

Branding Identity Deskflip.jpg

I like it :)

All in all, it took me about 4 hours to go through all this mental process with numerous sketches and variations. Time to present my work and hope the hosts of the new podcast "Deskflip and Chill" like it as well.

Sort:  

I love the brain martini glass, spot on.

hi @mrlightning creative ideas,
you are great, success awaits you friend.
best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39