Design a character contest 7 - my entry

in #designacharacter6 years ago

Hello Steemians!

Here is my entry for Design a character contest hosted by @w0olf.

I was streaming my initial sketching process and you can see more about that in this post (including the video). 

The process is same as always and I have started with a blank piece of paper and another paper which was filled with my doodles (my reference paper - which I won't show as there are too many writings on that one - it's available in the video).

This is the one I would like to add to the competition. He's small, cute and was fun to draw. I will include all the sketches and drawings I made in this post (minus my reference "scrap" paper).

Among initial sketches were these:

They were drawn on a back of a receipt and are tiny. I did it before the stream and I was playing with the idea of a character. :)

These 8 characters were what I ended up with after the stream was done. It took me little more than an hour to do that and I had a lot of fun. At few times I even forgot I was streaming.

Here are the final colored results. Only thing I'm sorry about it now is the fact that I didn't have more marker colors (I would love to use them on something like that).
I decided to try and experiment a little by adding colored pencils to the drawings without erasing the pencil lines. The end result is sort of unclean, rough and dirty look and I both like and hate that look. First two colored images were done like that. Outlines were added after coloring. I didn't feel like it worked so I outlined the third image and then added all the colors. This time result was more to my liking but there was a little smear on the nose. I need to experiment more with this order and see what I like the most.
Other images I colored with markers and I'm pleased with all of them - which means I'll get more colors in the near future. I tried the same things with markers. Outlining first, then coloring and coloring then outlining. I haven't erased the pencil when using markers. They covered pretty well.

I have also attempted to do it digitally and this is the result:

I feel like something is missing but I can't figure out what it is.

Have fun and keep steeming!
@zneeke

Sort:  

Nice one! I really enjoy the sketches on the receipt--something about mixing some everyday item with something artistic is very appealing. Would be cool to see more of that :)

I do it all the time :D
maybe I will start saving those for special posts :)

Great to see a digital version too! On your remark about the digital one, it just misses the character and playfulness in the line work that you add with pen. It's losing your style because the vector lines in illustrator/Photoshop are parametric in their digital nature (haha what play on words)
Break them up and vary the widths even on the same line, look at lines on paper Vs the digital one. Not a square or totally straight line in sight, they are also less continuous :-)
That's not easy with digital though, as the tools don't lend themselves to it easily.

lol Exactly :)
Well, in the future I will try that :) plus I need to familiarize myself with that graphic tablet of mine again :p

Hey it looks great! I think the colored pencil turned out very nice! Even the digital one.

@zneeke! Epic in depth post! I love how the various little characters just flow out of you dude, you sure know how to make them cute & cuddly!

your picture is very-very good ok I've vote you have. do not forget also dead end vote got me.

but you haven't voted

Hey nice work as always @zneeke, I'm upvoting this post because it's great :-) also no need to return an upvote that's not expected. If you think any of my posts are worthy that's up to you of course.

they are :)
effort is what's it about :)

Cheers :) that makes the effort worthwhile, damn that feels good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49