DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST ENTRY - The Chop Suey Gang

in #designacharacter7 years ago (edited)

DaCC-Cover.png

Who is this rough band of disgruntled veg?! It's the Chop Suey gang of course.

Good day fellow Steemians, and welcome to my Design a Character Contest entry. Firstly, I would like to thank @w0olf for hosting this wonderful contest, and I look forward to many many more!

My entry:


dacc_00.png

A little backstory:


Since they are characters, I decided to give them a little flavour.

First up we have, Le Roux, the leader of a gang, he is a smooth talking red onion that makes the ladies cry. He is the mastermind behind the heists and usually pockets most of the earnings.

Secondly we got good ol SPUD. He is the muscle of the gang, he is one tough potato. He recently had an unfortunate incident with a fork, but he is okay now.

Last but not least, we have beani. After being dropped at a soup kitchen, beani grew up on the rough streets, and was constantly in and out of juvie. This is where he honed his legendary pick-pocketing skills. What else can I say, he is one slippery bean.

Together they are the notorious Chop Suey gang!

The Process:


dacc_03.png
The original shaped my characters are based on, kindly provided by @w0olf

dacc_02.png
After loads of horrible attempts I came up with these

dacc_01.png
The final drawing on top of the image originally provided.

The Tools:

I drew this on a Wacom Intuos Pro Paper in Adobe Photoshop CC.

divider.png

I am still learning the ropes on my Wacom, but all-in-all this was a wonderful experience and I would advice everyone to join this contest and to support it where you can. Thank you for reading!

Comments, questions and critiques are always welcome.
100% Original Content / Vote / Resteem

Have a wonderful day.
SkippyZA ^_^

Sort:  

The names and expressions one me over. So great!

Thank you, it was great fun coming up with some backstories. :D And thank you very much for the vote.

That's such an awesome entry @skippyza!!
You did @ great job using the given shapes and turn them into cool characters! You even gave them their own personality! Wonderful!

Thanks for participating! :D

Thank you, it was great fun. :) Contests like these give me a great excuse to spend some time honing my drawing skills.

Excellent work! I love the backstory on each one. 👏👏

Thank you. :) I guess the backstories form themselves when you draw them, since they all end up with a personality anyway.

I love it. You gave that chop suey some flavor!
Nice work.

Thank you. I love Chop Suey the song, ironically, not so much Chop Suey the food. :P

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @skippyza to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Awesome Post Everybody knows how much you like me so much that I can learn and learn many things every day looking at your post and I think your posts will be of great help to us and so I invite all my steemit friends. Thank you for posting the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35