Design a Character Contest - Season 9 - Mike Mignola Style - Dark Gamer 2

MikeMignola2cover.jpg

A very late entry!

Was being notified by @w0olf yesterday that I got the style for this week chosen wrongly so I have to comeback submitting and entry with the right style and the deadline is today. Luckily theres nothing much at work and I have time to study which style I wanna adapt.

Since time is running out, I have decided to just adapt my character piece yesterday instead of creating a new one
After looking at the style available for picking this week, ive chosen Mike Mignola for this one.

Personally because I love the Noir look and the darkness into is. And my character is indeed a Dark Gamer haha.

Process

It is pretty basic with overlaying the original piece with a thin layer of translucent white so I can trace it with black masks to create the black shadow lines.

This is I think the core value in Mike Mignolia style. To get the shadow area in black in the right place to define the form and character and the darkness of the whole piece.

I have the slideshow in the official Mike Mignolia website running on my other monitor to keep on looking at his finished artwork for inspiration as I trying to adapt it to my piece.

First its the shadow patches, and then its the play of colors to establish the background and foreground, the mild shadows and the highlights and then the little little brush strokes on the blank surfaces to add to the language of the piece.

And at the end, I add a little softness to the black shadow layer to reduce the sharpness of the lines, to make it look more natural.

Shown below is the gif of the whole process.
output_rQcfga.gif

Final Piece

MikeMignola2.jpg

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY! and thanks again to @w0olf for organising and awesome contest and welcoming me to the group :)

#steem-cartoon #teammalaysia FTW!

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

very cool design! the draw have very fine details that impress me. the shadows, the pipes and that mechanism are really great!!

your welcome! please share more of your designs!...I just bought my first graphic tablet, and I can not wait to learn and see toher result of artist!! haha!... see ya!

Thanks Sir. Glad u like it :)

Congratulations @nazirullsafry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62