DESIGN A CHARACTER - Season 9 - Style challenge: Mike Mignola Style/My Entry Master Nula

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

2b7cacc5-5e0f-425c-90ef-2f10a39ef4c5.png
This is the finished look and my entry to the design a character season 9 under Mike Mignola style. It will be the only entry I made under this style. This is hosted by @w0olf you can check this post for the contest details.

Character: Master Nula
Background: Nula is considered a master in his village. He is an expert in physical combat so much similar to a ninja master and a monk at the same time. He looks like half human and half animal.

The steps:
Again, I am using Autodesk which is a smartphone drawing app.

One.

I laid out the base colors that I intend to use for this character. I want him to possess that bioluminescence effect hence the color choice. I think I like the look at this stage. I can definitely tell what it is. I can go on and put details the usual style I am accustomed to BUT this specific style of Mignola is more difficult than I thought. Very tricky I must say.
fd52f39a-092b-4aa8-ba02-cb173a077b54.png

Two

I started filling in some black color on a few gaps and areas. Oh no this does not look too promising. I began to doubt if I will be able to determine where to place the dark colors to achieve a more believable look. I must admit I put this off for a few days and focused on my other entries about Tony DiTerlizzi style. Now that all of them are done I can finally decide on my Mignola entry.

ab8b9cf8-700d-4bb9-9b2c-f720469b66fd.png

Three

I became apprehensive maybe I just scrap this one. But when I tried working on the hair I saw a bit of hope maybe I can pull this one off. There are some misses and mistakes. I gave up on the bottom part of the tunic as it looks busier and busier the more I proceed. I decided to cover that area back to red and extended the robe. This is indeed tricky and not easy for a newbie. I was planning to add more details on the background similar to a Mignola piece but I am afraid I would not be able to handle that challenge so a few mushrooms on the ground and brown smoke or could be a tree on the background would be just fine for now. Maybe I will try to learn this kind of style in the future and be good at it. For now this is the best that I can offer.

e3da4812-23db-4485-abca-4852fe24450e.png

Sort:  

Cool, it makes me wonder if he comes from the depths or from the woods? ;)

Hmm makes me wonder too. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29