Are you a real UX designer? - #2 Xperience Bydesign

in #design7 years ago (edited)

cover.png

Xperience Bydesign conf in Prague

My second summary and thoughts from Xperience Bydesign conference helded in Prague. In my opinion, Xperience brought more practical “how to” insights as her sister in Bratislava. It was different but a very refreshing experience.

Education of UX designers

Do you call yourself a UX designer? And how do you become one? Well, in most of the cases you’re self-taught as I am. Robert Lenne brought to stage this really difficult topic of the UX education. He didn’t come with a solution, but I found his talk really inspirational.

He tried to connect with us through his personal story. As a former Artsy and ex-IDEO designer, he found himself facing a new challenge every day. Without any formal UX education, he had to learn from more experienced peers or in the “wild”: conducting research, interviews, gathering data and bringing solutions.

My takeaways

Why has it resonated with me so much? Well, first of all, he tackled a really fascinating topic. It got me thinking. It also reminded me of a quote that says “Design can’t be just incidental”.

As Robert illustrates through his story and quick poll with the audience, there’s no formal education or any recommended path you should follow to become a UX designer.
We have great responsibility as UX designers, creating artifacts that shape daily lives of billions of people, it is a particularly huge problem.

Are we able to solve this problem, even when most of the time in our professional lives as a UX designers, we’re guessing and learning on the go? (I’m going to share more of my thoughts on this in my next article).

“Design can’t be just incidental. Our work has impact on people’s lives.”.

Are here any UX/UI designers? What do you think about the design ethics and our responsibility? Plese let me know!


mf.png
If you liked this article make sure to hit Upvote☝️ or If you really love it hit 💫Resteem. For more information about me or my work check my Instagram, Medium or Behance.

Illustration by Michaela Fiasová

Related article

Artificial intelligence & Google - #1 Xperience By Design

Sort:  

Congratulations @runningdesigner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38