Reducing The Cost Of The Shrem Ring

in #design8 years ago (edited)

Special thanks to @shenanigator for asking me to look into this.


Using Shapeways for 3d printing is convenient, but can be pricey if you want a metal design.

I recently was asked to take this design and see what materials are available to cut down costs.

Unfortunately the SHREM STEEM RING design has a solid surface and that normally drives up the price. To get the most efficient design, the part must be as porous as possible.

I will start off with a canvas with rings made with the previous design.

Design 1: Simple Side Cuts


If the Silver Shrem Ring is $200 in the silver material in Shapeways, cutting from the sides is an easy way to take reduce costs.

Design 1 Cost Savings
Raw Silver: $20.32 (10.4%)
Polished Silver: $20.82 (10.1%)
Stainless Steel: $5.08 (10.7%)


__Design 2: Parallel & Perpendicular Slices With Ring Supports__






This design really cuts down on the materials with 1mm slices throughout the entire bottom and sides. There are some spots that Shapeways won't like (anything that comes to a point), but I will try to get a sample and see what is printable first.

Design 2 Cost Savings

TBD
At the moment, I'm only seeing prices for plastic. There are too many places the design comes to a point. I like this design, but it needs more time.


Design 3: Double Ring


I had another design I scrapped, because I wanted the next to versions to be dead simple. I wanted to get the cost as low as possible. Design 3 has two narrow rings and the next design has one ring.

Design 3 Cost Savings

Raw Silver: $141.72 (72.5%)
Polished Silver: $141.72 (70.7%)
Stainless Steel: $35.43 (75%)


Design 4: Single Ring

This should price in to be the least expensive part.

Design 4 Cost Savings

Raw Silver: $ 149.11(76%)
Polished Silver: $ 149.11 (74%)
Stainless Steel: $37.28 (78%)


Design 5: Logo Cutout [Disc]


In this design, I cut out the logo from a shape

Design 5 Cost Savings

Raw Silver: $130.80 (67%)
Polished Silver: $130.80 (65%)
Stainless Steel: $32.70 (69%)


To be clear, the prices show the material cost savings when using designs with less material than the Silver Shrem Ring design.

Let me know which design you like best in the comments. Your feedback helps me prioritize which piece to clean up (if necessary) and prepare for Shapeways. The lower cost pieces are passing all checks.

Sort:  

Hello @rubenalexander,

The @robinhoodwhale initiative has chosen your post as one of our top picks for curation today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

Please keep on Steeming more great blogs!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

Great! Thank you!

i saw it and upvoted + commented. Looks beautiful.

Once again, really great work!

Design #1 is cool, but the cost savings are minimal compared to the others.
I also like design #3.
I like design #4 for a woman's ring; I think I'd like it for me if the band was thicker (which would obviously make it more expensive).
I think I'd like design #5 better if the top of the ring was flat rather than having raised edges.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54917.96
ETH 2851.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21