Studio News and Views

in #design7 years ago

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

Today In My Studio 07

It's been a good day....I have a new piece, some good news and a new acquisition to share with you.

For over a month I’ve had an image of a new mandala germinating in my brain. Finally last night I took the time to make it and it felt so good to see it come to life. Shown here above and below in wet clay and is about 12” x 12”:

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

Next, the good news….
You may remember from my post back in February that I launched a new collection of porcelain tile designs called CLOUD PORCELAIN with Ann Sacks showrooms nationwide. Since then I’ve received loads of sample orders and 1 medium size order. Typically, it takes about 6 months for orders to ramp up and sure enough today we got our first really substantial order and Rob and I are elated.

It is for the LANDSCAPE design. The concept behind this is to invoke a horizon line and the many shapes that can be. Something wonderful about this tile collection is that each design can be used in multiple configurations, here are 2 of the many options for LANDSCAPE:

CLOUD RFG Landscape Ink.JPG

CLOUD RFG Landscapes Ink.JPG

The layout this customer has chosen is in the Ink/ Raw color combination as shown below. It's very painterly like a brush stroke.

CLOUD RFG Ink Stripe copy.jpg

And lastly, a new machine that offers all sorts of hope! This is a used 20-ton Hydraulic Ram Tile Press which looks beat up but is actually in very good condition. This heavy duty industrial machine will open up a wide array of possibilities such as reproducing carved and relief surfaces, making almost any tile without fatiguing the body, largely reducing warping which is the largest cause of loss in production as well as eliminating the need for rolling slabs which is time consuming and tiring.

it took 3 men, a palette jack and cherry picker to lift, move and rotate this machine from the horizontal position it arrived in.
IMG_5328.JPG

The main goal and impetus for purchasing this $14,000.00 machine was to eliminate the need for some of the more time consuming aspects of making my new CLOUD PORCELAIN tile collection, and to be able to make these pieces with less loss from warping tiles. We have an extremely high loss rate with this collection since it’s porcelain and thus extremely temperamental. I’d really like for it to make a profit rather than break even with each order and especially with this new large order, this machine will be very useful.

The next step is to purchase the rather costly heavy duty compressor required to release the tiles from the molds. Thankfully this post will help fund this purchase. Once that is in place Rob will get this machine running and do all kinds of tests.

IMG_5330.JPG

As always, you'll be the first to see developments here in my studio, many thanks for supporting my post and blog!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice soothing design, calms the heart and mind

thank you, glad it has that effect for you too!

That mandala is gorgeous... :) so glad I'm following you!!! Thank you!

Thanks @joshuadavis and really grateful for the resteem! Likewise, I'm enjoying seeing your artwork as well in my feed.

Beautiful? What will you do with the clay piece you just created?

Thanks @wickedcute, I do this work for a living and one of the items I sell is mandalas. If this makes it all the way through the firings and glazing, it will be for sale!

It is beautiful. Please post a finished product picture!!

Yes I will, thanks for asking!

Dang. That's cool for real.

Beautiful work once again! I'm so glad you're getting orders for the Cloud collection. Exciting time for you!

Thanks @ericvancewalton, momentum is building and it feels good! Exciting times all around isn't it - you and your book, Steempark for Kirk and Michael!

You're welcome! Yes, there is a very good and positive vibe going on here with us all. I really hope this wave of good fortune continues for a long time. I'm proud of you guys.

cheers to riding this wave and riding it well! I likewise feel proud of everyone and glad to all be in such regular contact.Hope you're having a good break!

It's gorgeous!
How long does it take you in an evening to create a design like that?

Thanks! It took about 1 hour to work out the design on paper, 4 hours to make in clay and will take another 4 in glazing and the 2 firings, and of course then there's framing, so I'd estimate about 10-12 hours total.

awesome! hopefully the new machinery will let you put that that time in up front so you get your creative kicks, and then you can enjoy having/selling them much more quickly after.

Yes the press will definitely help reproduce many designs, although this kind of piece has to be made by hand...too many undercuts for a press mold. Anyway, thanks for reading and commenting!

Fantastic artworks. Great skills. Cheers

thank you @freshstuff, appreciate the kind words!

Cool artwork, I wonder what is your opinion on my work, I'm self taught. I'm primarily a musician, but also paint and draw. https://steemit.com/art/@wvm/sketches-and-a-water-color-sharing-with-you-my-art

hi @wvm, fyi, it's frowned upon here on steemit to use someone else's comments as a place to promote one's own post. I usually take a look at anyone's blog who comments on my posts since I know so many new people are joining that I don't know about, so no link would ever be necessary with me anyway. Your drawing is gorgeous!

Sure but my comment was in relation to your post and I was genuinely interested in your opinion. If someone were to post a link as I did, as long as it's related I'd accept it.

Yes I see, and I'm not upset just trying to help someone out who is new. :-)

Thank you @natureofbeing, I appreciate it.

@natureofbeing, but hey I will take your view into consideration... so yeah sure I won't post any more links...

Invite people over to your blog since you're handle is a link. Anyway, again your work is good and welcome to steemit, I'm glad to learn about what you do. I'll follow

Hey thanks, sure I will modify my ways on Steemit, thanks for the insight

Stunning work, the mandala is beautiful.

thanks so much @phoenixmaid! I'm in the process of making a collection to mandalas and will be posting each one over the coming 2-3 weeks, so there will be more to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81