CONTEST - Cover Art Review by a professional Designer

in #design7 years ago (edited)

Win a professional review of your book, music, video or post Cover Art

photo-1487029752779-a0c17b1f5ec9.jpg
photo source: unsplash.com

This contest is about giving back. I have only been a few days on Steemit, but people have been incredibly helpful, loving and open. So i was searching for a way to give back and help you. In this contest you can win a professional design review of a cover art you created for your music, book, video or post. My wish is to help you improve, reach more readers and find a design that fits your purpose. It's my way to say thank you to this amazing community.

Rules & Submission

Please don't think this contest is only for experienced designers. I will not select the best designs, i will select the designs that are most interesting for a review. This is about learning and improving. So, please, no matter what your design background is, enter your work - everybody is a winner here.

To enter the contest you need to:

  • Re-steem this contest
  • Write a comment that includes ALL of these:
    • your linked cover art design (not just a photo or design you downloaded for the internet - i will check)
    • a short text about you wanted to express with your design and what audience you want to reach
    • a link to the (steemit) post where you used that particular cover art
  • You can only submit one Cover Art image

Submission Ends on Sunday 14. January 4 PM GMT

Review post of the winners

I will post a review of the 3 selected Cover Art Designs, link to your post and upvote it on Monday 15. January

Some words about me

I'm a professional designer for web and print content. I studied art in Munich and Vienna with a Masters Degree. Besides art and design, i also create music, write poems and make tutorials about these things. Additionally i teach community building strategies for game developers at a local university. So basically my main area is where culture meets community.

Other posts by me:

Design Basics #01 - How to select a picture
Design Basics #02 - The Power of Color
Leafs on Water - Ambien Music by me

giphy.gif

Sort:  

Link to Art I created for Part 1 of my Story Awaken:
STEEMIT LINK HERE

Not sure if this is 'cover' art, but it would be a close depiction of the chapter #1.

Tried to convey the characters home in the trees. Thus far he is only known as 'the old man'.

Trying to reach readers who like fantasy and magic, with some suspense and mystery and battles.

While it is a GIF, one of the images alone is below.

TheOldMansPlace-013.gif

thank you for participating :)

This is such a helpful contest. I’m so proud of you giving back to the community of steemit.
As a fellow graphic designer, know that this will provide help to the community of steemit to promote their artistic side or better with more effect and attraction.

Nothing says; LOOK AT MY BRAND - better than the best cover art!

If you need help give me a shoutout! 🖤

@katrah also consider taking part in the "Paying it forward" Challenge i run right now: https://steemit.com/contest/@multi4g/social-experiment-love

it would be a great help if you could invite more people to join this contest :) - Also your self-portraits and the photoshoot pics are awesome :)

Nameste Multi4g,
I have attached my cover image I made today.
Its inspired by my internal beliefs. Emphasis is put on Buddha, the wise who guides me through life. Then the background is of the universe, a reminder that we are all connected and originate from the same cosmic dust. Then i have included my TEAMAUSTRALIA logo as im a proud member of the @teamaustralia steemit group. Lastly i am a big believer in EOS so it is also playing a huge role in my banner. I hope everyone who sees my cover image will know the kind hearted, spiritual person i am.

Here is the link to my post.

Below is the cover image itself

Peace

thank you for participating :)

Good luck! I have resteemed your post for visibility 💓

Thank you so much :)

Hey @multig4 I was wanting to make a steemit cover image for my friend @ethjunkie and i know he loves Alan Watts so was inspired to include some images and quotes from one of his talks... (really inspirations guy if you dont know him).

My friend is also a very transient philosopher as well so wanted to convey his out of body consciousness which the galaxy is supposed to represent. In the end I made a refined version which was inspired by his love of Ethereum (hence the name @ehtjunkie).

You can find a Steemit Post where i uploaded a "speedart" video I made of the process.

Below is the cover image but there is actually 4 subtle differences between them. :) P.s. i know your post says only one image can win so in that case I would choose This one

Ethjunkie-Cover-image.jpg

Ethjunkie-Cover-image-2.jpg

Ethjunkie-Cover-image-3.jpg

Ethjunkie-Cover-image-4.jpg

Ethjunkie-Cover-image-5.jpg

Peace!

thank you for participating :)

What a nice thing to do! I wish I could participate... but I don't ever design things actually... I could have definitely used your insights a few months ago when I had to make a choice between book covers, but as I've already chosen, I am afraid your review might make me not like it anymore, so not very helpful. Also, I didn't design it myself, so not a lot of leeway there.
But in a few months I have another book publication coming up, so I'm going to be bold and send you what the publisher sends me then, to get your valuable insight. To be continued!

(And, great initiative, as always!)

@nobyeni Hm... i understand your concerns. But keep in mind that any critique is aimed to improve what you do in the future. What ever you did in the past was the best you could reach with the knowledge available to you at that time. So, there is nothing to be taken away from that. Also, since it is a old design, you had time to get a distance to it and see things in another light. So critique might be more helpful now, than shortly before or after you publish a design.

Here is my entry for your cover art contest.

The original image was found on unsplash.com.

The design is meant for a series of posts that I'm writing. It contains tips and advice for writers.

Here is the first part of the series that contains this cover image.

I've also made a matching square image to use as cover art on my TinyTeaches SteemShelf.

ificate.jpg

Awesome, thank you for your entry :)


So I've always loved The Raven. It's the only writing of Poe's I've ever really enjoyed (that I've read so far, anyway, I have his complete works in a giant book). I go into my history with this poem a little more in my post. I wanted to reach people who also liked the poem, and like the gothic horror look.
https://steemit.com/bookcover/@arrelaine13/the-raven

Hopefully I'm not too late. I am constantly doing too many things. I'd love some feedback on my cover for my serial, The Saga of Misty Vale.

It's for a fantasy about a group of people who are sealed into a small valley by a magic spell. The spell manifests as a wall of mist. So I wanted the feel of that without it being too "real" since trees and stuff won't all look exactly the same as here.

I'm behind updating my serial, so last used here. https://steemit.com/fiction/@bex-dk/the-saga-of-misty-vale-chapter-4

I need to make some changes anyway as The Writers' Block has a new logo. So I'd like to do that all at the same time.

Hi bex. i really appreciate your entry. Thank you :)

I really like reading an article that can make men and women think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

This is the perfect blog for anyone who wants to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic that's been discussed for ages. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

thank you for your comment. what do you mean by new spin?

Seems like a super generic comment, it could be cut, pasted and posted on almost anything presenting an article, but where it fails is in an article requesting something from its audience... such as this one, lol.

a bit like this:

Haha. 😉

lol, just calling it how i see it :)

This might be a comment posted on the wrong post (hopefully it is the case), or a comment made by someone who hasn't yet read your post, trying to grab a piece of the reward pool. Also known as spamming.

i see. thank you for clearing that up.

Yes, i think so too... :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85