You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A New Web Shop For My Fireproof Firebox Tile!

in #design6 years ago (edited)

A rocket mass heater (my typo) is similar to a masonry stove (used for heating spaces). They are obviously massive (clay, stones, ceramics etc..) stoves used primarily for heating, although there are several variations (ovens and cook stoves).

The premise is to fully combust wood (including the gasses) and store that heat in a bench or bed for long heat radiation. The efficiency is up to 90% higher than conventional wood stoves. Unlike masonry heating they can be built economically and DIY. Plus they are all custom built so there's a lot of room for creativity. If you're into it, check out permies.com for more details or this link https://richsoil.com/rocket-stove-mass-heater.jsp. I think you'd really appreciate some of the artistically crafted and functional works that so many have created.

Sort:  

Oh yes I know of these!! In Europe they are known as Kachelofen and they are truly wonderful ways to heat a space. In fact, years ago I glazed the tiles made by another artist - now retired . He had the knowledge of how to make these since they need to have a special structure and shape for insulation. Here is a photo of the stove-bench for which I glazed all the tiles, it's in Maryland:
38_12.jpg

By the way, my sister is really into permaculture so I now am a believer too even though I haven't done much except be very careful about the farms I support. In any case, great to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42