Deranged Photography Contest ~ Humans Theme

in #derangedphotography6 years ago (edited)

This photo of my friend April is my entry for @derangedvisions photo contest in the professional tier. The theme for this week is Humans. Please see this post for details about the contest.

Nikon D750, 1/4000s f/2.8 ISO250 85mm
2sr4qpai27.jpg

I should probably say something about my goal in making this photo - it's simple, I was really trying to capture her soul. Look at those eyes... do you think I was successful?

Thank you for taking a look. Please click for a full-screen view.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub

You can see our daily report in this link

Wow! This is such a beautiful capture @keithboone Look at those eyes! Quite mesmerising. (As I was saying.........much more than a 'humble' reporter documenting the news as you see it, IMO. (lol)

Thanks, Trudee. So first of all, who said humble? That's the last thing I am! I think the job of a photographer making a portrait is to show the essence or soul of the subject - and I think I totally nailed it here! See, now I sound arrogant, and I'll probably lose... but humble? Never :)

I humbly apologize Keith. May you long deliver portraits worthy of inspiration and praise. And may those of us with lesser talents strive to portray the essence or soul of their subjects the way you do. (:

Oh boy.... you know I'm kidding, right? Who called you a "lesser talent?" If you really want humble for some reason, here goes: this was the first "professional" portrait I ever did. Professional in the sense that money was exchanged. I actually paid the model to be allowed to take the shots!

The second and only other "professional" portrait I've ever done was supposed to be for money, but I never got paid... So there - you've managed to torture the truth from me! ;)

April has posed for me a couple of other times, and I've always paid her. Not sure if you remember a series of ghost shots I did once. April played the ghost in those shots.

Do not fret my friend. I generally assume you are joking unless you make it blatantly obvious that you have a bee or a swarm of bees in your bonnet. (lol) And then I steer clear until I think it is safe to stimulate your unfailing sense of humour once again.

And it was me who called myself a 'lesser talent.' I would have to study photography and carry (and learn to use) a more advanced camera than I currently do, to be able to produce the quality of work that you do. There's no point arguing. It's true.

April is an ideal model and I certainly do remember your ghost series.......but I won't mention the word 'professional' or 'talented' in this same segment in case I overdo the compliments. However, I'm still waiting for my gold leaf autograph! (:

howdy sir keithboone! you were definitely successful! lol. great job. how many shots did that take?

Thank you @janton. I took a bunch of shots - her boyfriend was standing just to the right, holding a reflector for me. I'm not sure why exactly, but the shot I liked had her hair blowing across her face as you see here. I'm pretty sure the shots without the blowing hair would be more technically correct but I liked how she looked in this one. I was taking a photography course at the time and this was a homework assignment for me and I paid April to model for me.

howdy sir keithboone how's it going today? The blowing hair in that shot was definitely what made it I think, it gave it a very natural look, for one thing. Are you posting today or are you still on Christmas break? lol.

Thank you! I'm still a bit under the weather. Was invited to two different parties yesterday and decided to stay home instead. I finally got around to making a post.

parties? you don't need no parties, you got steemit! lol.. what kind of parties? I didn't know you were under the weather, sorry to hear that.

Well, to be honest, there were two distinctly different get-togethers. One, which my wife went to, was tea and cookies with the church ladies. I didn't attend.

The second, which was at a neighbours place, would have been cocaine & whiskey. I avoided that one too.

If I had felt better I would have gone to the tea & cookies "party".

haha! hey I'd love to go to a tea and cookies get together too! They better have alot of cookies though cuz I'm the original Cookie Monster. Too bad you been feelin bad but I suppose there's always next year. What about New Year's parties?

My birthday is new years eve. We're going out somewhere with a couple of friends, but nothing too fancy

You got a 5.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @keithboone!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40