You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When something sucks, don’t focus on it.

in #depression6 years ago

Having been in the "deep dark place" I would have to say that the key (at least for me) was to be aware when I was "sinking into the mire" and change direction then... or I could end up looking at the clock, and suddenly six hours had passed.

"Changing positions" or "breaking state" was the most important thing I could do. My weakness was always a tendency to become semi-catatonic; I could sit and just watch the bird feeder for four hours straight. I actually felt "in a good mood," but I couldn't move... because anything other than watching the bird feeder felt overwhelming.

I learned that some depression isn't "clinical" in the traditional sense; it's "existential." We're not depressed because our relationship ended, or our dog died; we're depressed because we see the world going down the drain and we feel powerless. There's no "pill" for that; no amount of talk therapy helps... because what ails us is FACT. We just happen to (a) SEE it and (b) obsess on it.

May your days be bright.

Sort:  

It’s funny how everyone knows exactly what I’m talking about with this one. We sometimes think we are alone in our struggles but it turns out we are all on different but similar paths.

I’m starting to think that self love (sometimes mistaken for selfishness) is what most of us are lacking and what can fill us with enough energy to get up and do something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49