You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Need to Feel Whole

in #depression6 years ago

Thank you for this article. I am pretty much the person who barely leaves the apartment/bed, except I have no one bringing me food or anything and I'm 39. I don't expect more than Facebook well wishes, and I don't ask for more, because I'm already a burden. If people wanted to do more, they would.

Sort:  

I can relate to where you are coming from because I hid in my house for 3 years on and off completely by myself and isolated because I just didn't care enough to put forth any effort anymore. Let me start by saying that you are not alone in your struggle. I struggle and I have met quite a few wonderful people on Steemit and Discord that face similar challenges.

One thing that helped me to start to feel like myself again was taking a shower every day (even when I didn't want to) and going outside for 5 minutes every single day (even if it was raining or snowing). This helped me to start to feel grounded and not like I was floating away or something.

No one in this world is a burden, we are all here for a reason and have something to contribute to the colletive society that is our own unique contribution. You definitely have a gift to share with others, we all do.

People that don't understand the struggle find it hard to relate and even harder to reach out to us and know what to say. It hurts to watch a loved one struggle with depression or any mental health challenge and its hard to try to help but not know how to.

Is there someone in your life that you could try talking to about how you feel on your bad days that can help you find ways to bring you back from the darkness on those days? That's how I started. I reached out to my sister one day and told her everything, she had no idea how bad I felt or that I needed someone desperately to talk to.

My friend @nathankaye started a Discord chat specifically for having someone to talk to on your dark days and checks in with everyone that leaves a message there. Here's a link to it if you feel it could help you. https://discord.gg/psBXzK7

Sending you love and light,
Ivy

You are most welcome :)
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47