You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Nowhere Fast

in #depression6 years ago (edited)

@blewitt, man, I don't know what to say.

I'm not going to say "I know what it feels like," because while I've lost my share of beloved companion animals over the years, my grief isn't like your grief.

I'm not going to say "Get over it!" because such advice is as useful as telling someone with a broken arm to "heal faster". It's not a state of mind, it's not something you can will into yourself, it's only the passage of time that can, and does, eventually make layers over the pain to blot them out for increasingly longer and longer periods. I still talk to mine, even though they're not here. I still cry over them when I look through a photo album or come across a memory on FB. It's the surest sign imaginable that you're human, to grieve the loss of a love.

I'm not going to make jokes. Though I love our guy banter, and your sense of humor, you don't sing songs to a hurting heart. Keep yourself as healthy as possible. It's totally cool to coast in neutral for a while as you work to find yourself.

I know we live nowhere near one another, but if there's anything I can offer, anything I can do, within my power, just ask.

Pearl Jam - Nothingman

I got nothing, man. Be true to yourself. Follow your mind, but listen to your heart. Message me if you need to talk. Hug your kids (two- and four-legged).

I wish you peace, recovery, and healing this holiday season.

Sort:  

Thx for reaching out brother. Much appreciated.

I still talk to my boys daily as well. It’s probably crazy but I feel a bit better doing that. I still cry when the moment catches me. I don’t think that’ll stop for quite some time...if ever. But we find a way through it somehow.

I’ll never be insulted at some jokes. Even during a tough time. So don’t ever feel like ya can’t say something tabboo or shitty no matter the topic. Lol

Thx for all the love my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36