You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sympathy is Like Sugar. Don't Pour Too Much of It.

in #depression7 years ago

I don't like receiving a sympathy but advice. I don't want people feel pity on me for anything. The only thing I want is an advice which I always have it. There was once a man who felt pity on me and caused me to be dependent on him. At some point, they will feel tired too because they're crutches to someone's else life.

It's hard to let go of dependency when you're in depression but in the end, all we have is ourselves. A little sympathy and empathy are good now and then but like you said don't pour it too much

Sort:  

Some people actually appreciate (or at least enjoy) the pity of others (especially when such amounts to material benefit). Feeling depressed 'can' foster an inclination towards accepting or seeking sympathy. For these it can be difficult to ween themselves off such dependency - as in a sense such is their quality-of-life-support, and the healing process can take much longer.

I personally think that it comes down to one's viewpoint on life. A persons with a modest degree of pride will have mixed feelings about receiving pity.

It is true though that it is possible to pull one's 'sympathy muscle' and there is such a thing as 'overstaying one's welcome'.

Thank you for giving this a read and for the up-vote @macchiata! :c)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35