Reaching Out

in #depression6 years ago (edited)

Reaching Out

I was moved to write this story when one of the member in my Txgxthxr Whatsapp Group sent a devastating chat regarding her perfectionist boss.

This Txgxthxr group is founded by a group of Malaysian people who are suffering from depression. This group is mainly acting as a support group to emotionally support anybody who are having their episodes of depression.

I found this group through Facebook when I was looking for a Depression Support group in my country, Malaysia. And one of the admin invited me to join the Whatsapp group, which I immediately agreed on joining.

I've been in this group since early of this year with the purpose of getting to know the society of people who are suffering from depression. As I have started to organised a Self-Love Event under the patronage of Fix You Corporation and Jean's Secret Company, which are greatly supporting the people who are suffering from depression.

So back to the reason why I'm sharing a little story to all #steemians here in #steemit, is because one of the member of the Whatsapp group, told us about her awful boss.

This boss is ...
• A perfectionist
• A narcissist

Perfect combination of a toxic person! How terrible they must have made the situation for the workers to feel unbearable and depressed.

And this brings back to my memories where I myself had personally worked under a perfectionist boss. I was so different than now compared to before, where I would try to please everybody just so that they will take a liking for me, even if it means that I couldn't do it. I was so afraid of rejection.

And because of my past behaviours, this gives a greater chance or opportunity for the perfectionist boss to take more advantage on me. How painful it is to remember that moments again. I was too afraid to voice out my feeling of discomfort because of her high expectations.

When I think all this thoroughly, she is not only a perfectionist. But she also turned out to be a narcissist person because she had successfully made me feel helpless, guilty and in deep remorse. Someone who managed to made another person feel small, worthless and guilty! She belittled me and putting all the blame on me. Have you ever been treated this way?

Based on different human personalities, some would have stand up for themselves and not allowing this incident to further developed. And others (like me) would just suck in the depressed feelings in order not to rebel against the superior.

For people who have the same personality as me, I want you to change the way you are behaving. Stop trying to please your boss. This will only make them want to bully you. You are capable! If your boss is putting you in so much pressure and keep bullying you and belittling you.. then do something about it. Quit your job! Either that or you will continue to suffer. Which will lead to depression in the long run.

Do not take this matter lightly. This is serious. This could lead to depression. Bottled up pressure will lead to serious damage to your mental health. Walk away from situations that are making you feel like a trash. You have your values. This don't only apply to having an awful boss.. but this is also happening in the family. Having a narcissist parents. Anything that could gives your pressure. Even a narcissist spouse. Every human have their own values. Wake up. Open your eyes. And see the situation in clear mind and calm heart. Don't allow this to keep happening to you. Love yourself more.

And if you want to talk about your experience with me. I welcome you to do so. Let me know. Leave a comment. It breaks my heart seeing this thing happening around me. Because I've been there. I lost myself. I forgot my values. I didn't love myself.


20170923_145842.jpg
The founder of Fix You Corporation, Ms Charlene Jean. The one who has taught me the values of myself. The one who has taught me the deeper meaning of self-love. The one who has changed my beliefs and opened up my eyes to see the bigger picture

Sort:  

Do you know when a person joins a depression society, the high chances they will become one of them. So if you have that feeling you feel like one of them, it is recommended to stay out of it. It required a self-discipline to stay strong and help others. Life is a choice, always choose the positive side.

I faced this issue when I 1st got engaged with them. But I know how to draw lines now. If we are not careful, we could be dragged down to their world of negativity. But thank you for warning me about it! 😊

Never put feeling into it. Always think rational when dealing with them.

Your post has been featured in TeamMalaysia TehTarik Sunday. Keep on steeming and here is a small tip!

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @alvinauh to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Hi @deborahneils...
Nice group and good society...
Glad to be u at there..
Cheers.

Hi @zamifara 😊 thank you.. we are gathering more members to join us in this. Hehe we will hold another gathering on the 1st of July.. hoping to impact more people. Cheers!

Great effort there. All the best ya.

Thank you @bboyady! 😄 may we all succeed in what we are aiming for in life

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hi @deborahneils! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

Chck out this new post from @myach: Click. Feel free to follow @myach if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Keep up the good work of posting #teammalaysia.

Thank you @travellife 😊 I'm glad you find this post worth to be upvoted
#teammalaysia

Hi @deborahneils, Nice writeup..hopefuly everything will be ok ya.cheers!

Thank you @chanecalestus! I hope I am able to help other people who are facing the same situation as me. Cheers!

Great for you to have such a positive outlook on life!!

It's hard to avoid toxic people when they are people that one constantly have to face each day, worst if its close family members, we've all been there. I'm very grateful of the internet and the fact that I'm no longer relying solely on anyone for subsistence. So its somewhat easy to avoid them and do my own thing.

I always keep in mind that narcissism is the best trait a person can have to pursue power. And have slowly developed a mild disrespect to any position of power. If I respect someone, it is out of my impression of the person and not the circumstance of the situation. I'm not not bow my head to someone just because everyone else is doing it or just because "it's disrespectful to not do it".

Also, misery loves company. Rather than seeking support and wallow on problems together I personally feel its better to seek the company of people that empowers. One can quickly forget their "shitty" situation if constantly being bombarded with positivity ala Gary Vaynerchuk style.

You are also an optimistic person @awesomianist! 😊 Life has different ways in pulling you down.. it could be from your work.. your colleagues.. boss.. friends.. parents or even you partner. It is important that we recognize the negative energy and vibes of the people around us and most importantly on how they make you feel all the time. Sometimes we are blinded by their position in our lives that we do not see the hint of narcissism. It's good that at least you resolve this issue by seeking the company of people who can empowers you! Let's remind each other of our self values and we need to stand up for ourselves 😊

You are right! and that is what TeamMalaysia can be one day! a community whose members are constantly empowering each other! If you ask around for instances of teammalaysians rushing to help someone in need, you might be suprised at just how often it happens!

This is not to brag of course, but a hope that it will continue to happen so that only positivity is felt here!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63286.07
ETH 2472.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66