Are Care homes really Caring enough?

in #dementia8 years ago (edited)

Hi there,

My name is Ollie Lloyd and I am a young musician from Wakefield, West Yorkshire. In October 2015, I started a business called Music and memories, which provides entertainment for Dementia patients in care homes.

The first Chapter-

My story starts in 2012, when my Great Gran was admitted to her first residential home.
While visiting her one afternoon, it became very clear that some of the residents were often sat alone for hours, staring aimlessly at a television set, whilst they wait patiently for their next meal.

The image of a worn down single story building, littered with tweed armchairs and stained carpets, isn't exactly anyones idea of paradise. However, the lack of council funds and a crippling recession, has left many care homes on the brink of closure nation wide...

It is at this point when I realized there HAS to be some changes made within the Care home industry, in order to assure a decent quality of care. Despite not knowing what those changes are, I knew that It was in my interest as a fellow human; to find out what can be done, to give our relatives the best quality of life, in their later days.

The beginning of Music and Memories-

A few years later in 2015, I found myself at a crossroads...
Do I continue working as a barman in a local boozer, drenching my soul in Black Cherry Bulmers and knock-off Sambuca? Or do I quit my day job, pull my act together and bring upon the change, that I want to see in the world?

Remembering my previous experience with my Great gran, I turned my sights to the Care home industry. The idea of brightening someones day, by performing music, gave me a buzz that no alcoholic beverage could ever give. So I drafted a letter and visited as many homes as I could find in the local area...

The ins and outs-

The response was great... After a week, I had interest from over ten Care homes within the Wakefiled area. Once bookings were made, I visited my first home in December 2015.
I can remember playing the first song on my setlist (Jingle Bells), and looking around the room to be greeted by Big grins and happy smiles.
In short, I had found my true purpose in life, despite only being 18. Helping others through the medium of music is a blessing for all people involved. This inspired me to grow my business, by offering my services outside the Wakefield are.

My Goal for the future-

Nearly a year on, I am happily performing music on a regular basis, to both adult and elderly dementia patients. I visit the homes with an acoustic guitar and a box of percussion instruments, playing to groups of various sizes...

My goal for the next year, is to raise awareness of Dementia, by giving people an inside look at the care home industry. I will do this by regularly sharing stories and pictures, that ultimately inspire people to learn more about the ins and outs of dementia care.

If you have a family member or friend who suffers with Dementia, you may find my posts interesting and helpful, as I will be frequently suggesting tips and tricks, to help with the wellbeing of your loved one.

I am extremely exited to be writing this post, and I look forward to making allot more. Please help me in my mission to raise awareness for Dementia, by commenting and starting discussions about your own personal experiences.
My next post will be about violence in care homes, documenting my first experience with a violent resident...
Thankyou for reading. Take it easy!

Sort:  

Great article, would love for you to come to my grans care home, what areas do you cover and how could they get in touch with you?

Thank you :), I play anywhere within the West Yorkshire area, however there are a lot of great services out there, who use a similar method of music therapy all over the uk. My email is [email protected] , feel free to ask any questions :)

A nice freind of mine works with the elderly out of Hebden Bridge, she is a writer who is collecting their memories to write something about these memories in either poetry or prose. She put on film shows of the old films, plays them songs of their youth and has guest speakers.

That's amazing. What a great idea, a lovely way of respecting the elderly. They definitely have the best stories to tell!

welcome to steemit olli,glad to see you on here. just a bit of advice, people who post a pic of themself with a piece of paper saying steemit with the date and their name, tend to get more upvotes on their introduction. if u need any help on here give me a txt. heres what i did for my intro.......https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pcste/hello-steemit-i-m-pcste-from-yorkshire-in-the-uk-glad-to-be-part-of-steemit

Hi Ste, cheers for the tip. I'll make a suitable introduction post tonight in that case. Glad to be on here, just admiring your pics of the moon- great shots. Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40