Sort:  

Given that the EIP does not actually deliver what it claims to, and furthermore has not been presented with anything approaching the analysis I have done, I am against it.

It is just tinkering with the same old parameters. When will the devs learn that this isn't working? Every top blockchain is working towards improving their chain, be it technically or economically. It is time to at least take a serious look at a Steem V2!!

This will drive Steem further towards what it is already becoming, and I described in my previous article as blockchain-banking. If everybody thinks this is a great idea, fine, but there is nothing social about it - that will happen on new platforms such as palnet and others.

When it actually gets implemented, I shall be neutral and do what I have to do to make the most of it.

(Pessimistic? Possibly more than you, or evens, lol)

i really do think it is wishful thinking that the behaviour will change enough to get the results even heading in the direction they are projecting.

I'm thinking at this point that if it gets implemented as is, I will likely shoot for continuing to post but likely shorter and maybe more frequently until I see exactly how things are going to shake out. Sadly some of those I care about on this platform are either leaving or thinking about it.

the analysis is something that hasn't been tried from what I could see other than @dreemsteem's where she compared incomes for various levels of members before and after.

You've focused on the vote buying which is very important as well.

@timcliff I think this is relevant to our conversation. Have the witnesses even looked at these numbers or just tried to project what behaviour is going to be?

Thanks, hadn't seen her articles; let me link her in:
https://steemit.com/hardfork/@dreemsteem/now-you-can-see-the-numbers
That is interesting in that my analysis that large curation accounts will do well is bourne out - smaller individuals, I'm less sure about and hopefully they will earn some more from working within those groups such as Curie.

Lemme read her other post...

It was important to focus on vote trading as it was one of EIP's main claims: that human-curation would become more profitable than vote-trading. I've shown that's not true. I didn't even go into algorithmic-curation-mining ;-)

might be worth bringing your results to the attention of the witnesses especially the top 20. There hasn't been any indication they have actually looked at the mathematical outcomes.

Agreed, you possibly know more of them than I do. I dislike tagging but with so many other things going on might be worth doing. What do you think?
Just having a look to see who I've had contact with....

give it a go... the worst they will do is ignore the tag.

Would be good to get the opinions of some that will be directly affected, such a @therealwolf and @yabapmatt.
@ocd-witness and @curie should both be happy with these changes in curation rewards but not sure about their views on the whole package.

There were only 2 top witnesses who are against EIP - can't recall the 2nd person; will need to look it up.

@drakos was the second one .. he's #21 though

It was important to focus on vote trading as it was one of EIP's main claims: that human-curation would become more profitable than vote-trading. I've shown that's not true. I didn't even go into algorithmic-curation-mining ;-)

Well @rycharde. You should!! You actually should go balls-deep into the 'algorithmic-curation-mining' dark abyss to know better the kind of specimens living in the abyssal fauna throughout this ocean. There are some that even have their own light you know? And most of them are convinced that we must also follow blindly the 'light' they emanate.

However, I still have a small flashlight handy to light my way thru in my very own cranky style. };)

Cheers!!

Thanks, but it isn't even in the dark; 50% curation plus the crushing of small votes plus the new 1 minute reverse auction - all shine a bright light on what is going to happen.

Even when people watch the corporate news, they still don't understand what they are really being told.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44