You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegations

I've always thought that Mexico got a bad wrap, even when things were better. I've been to different parts of Mexico at least four times, maybe five (it's hard to keep things straight because we would go to several different places each time).

However, now they've started to announce more and more travel warnings here, and the last time I was in the DF (probably 15 years ago now), things were changing there, too.

So, I'm sure that the parts of the country that are really bad are giving the rest of the country a bad name, just as it's easy to lump all of the U.S. into one category or Canada, or any other nation.

I'm sorry about the cat calls. Anyone who does that doesn't really have a clue about life, let alone gender relations, but they desperately need to get a clue. My guess is most of them are drunk, even if it's in the morning or early afternoon. No waiting for the evenings that I've ever seen. :)

I've always had great fun walking around in areas of high Hispanic populations, in the U.S. or in Mexico, especially with my wife, and then see the looks on people's faces when this here Gringo busts out some Español. Funny thing is, I've never heard anyone making fun of me before the knew I could speak Spanish, which I know can happen, just not as much as some people might believe.

I'd like to think it was my magnetic personality and natural charm that kept that bay, but it was more likely I wasn't of particular interest to them and they just kept to their own business. Either way is fine with me. :)

Sort:  

For the first time, I've seen what the US travel warnings do to the locals working here. This town economy is based on tourism alone, and we have friends here now who are having a difficult time making ends meet because of it. Normally March is unbelievably busy and it's like a ghost town here; really sad actually.

There's a guy I know here who was a police officer in Florida his whole life, and he says that where he worked was more dangerous than here. And when something happens that prompts a travel advisory, people shouldn't be focused on the one 'bad' event, but instead on what the local officials are doing in response to it. I'm assuming you're referring to a ferry explosion here? If so, they've beefed up security at the ferry terminals, brought in working dogs, installed a metal detector that everyone has to pass through, and have military personal there around the clock. He said it's now the safest place to be here: )

I thought it was an interesting take on it all.

And as far as the cat-calling, it's a thing here for sure. Old school construction workers especially, but they are all stone-cold sober. A lot of the men here seem to be behind the times so to speak when it comes to it all; it's kind of a "macho" thing. They have the same weird macho mentality about having their male dogs neutered; many men here that I've encountered wouldn't hear of such a thing! That explains my post about dogs though, doesn't it. And of course I'm generalizing here a bit... my disclaimer in case someone reads this and accuses me of lumping all Mexican men in the same basket :)

That's awesome that you speak Spanish as well. Oh yes, what little I know is often recognized with raised eyebrows, but also a smile. I think people really appreciate you trying to learn their language...it is Mexico after all, so I feel like it's our responsibility to fit in. So Brian practices cat-calling at home with me haha just kidding...obviously ;)

I hadn't heard about the Cancun area or Playa del Carmen specifically. It was more on a national level, with some of the larger tourist areas involved. The two times I've been in the Cancun area, I felt safe, except when I saw the police. It's a weird feeling that my wife shares (being from Mexico herself).

If it's a ghost down down there, it might be the best time for me to go! I haven't really seen a price drop in airfare from here, so I wonder what that's all about. The airlines are generally sensitive to things like that. So are the hotels, and aside from some normal annual discounts, I haven't seen that either. Maybe it's mostly affecting Playa del Carmen instead of the greater Mexican Riviera?

It sounds like a lot has been done to increase safety for that particular instance. Too bad I don't like walking through metal detectors and having a military presence. I've seen those guys at the Mexico City airport and I get nervous. Being there, but a little less conspicuous would be cool.

Figures with the cat calling. Not being drunk is worse. No, not all Mexican men are like that. I've always considered Mexico to be about 30 years behind the U.S. as far as societal changes go. That means they're in the late 80s right now, so maybe some change will be taking place. I already know that my wife's sisters who still live down there have been working outside the home for a few years now, something they never considered before. Of course, the state of the wider economy has been as much of a determinant there as any societal shift.

I think it's a good thing to learn another language. It definitely comes in handy. In my case, there's family that I wouldn't be able to talk to on my wife's side otherwise. Can't expect everyone in the world to speak your language, though many more do speak English.

It would actually be a good idea for Hispanics living up here to learn more of the language, though. There are places in Southern California I've been to where everything's done in Spanish. It's not even officially a little Mexico, like a Chinatown would be. Not sure how much English anyone speaks, and I suppose if they never need to transact or work outside that circle, they can get by really well, but if they ever make a move outside that zone, reality hits hard and fast.

Whether it's out of courtesy or not, knowing a country's main language is helpful to the individual. Beyond rebuking the cat calling, too, I would hope. :)

It can be a double edged sword, though. Street vendors tend to swarm you more if they know you speak Spanish, so there's that.

The police do make me a little nervous, or at least their big guns with their finger on the trigger does. I am getting used to it, but mostly, we stay clear of them. I too don't like metal detectors and a military presence, but I think it was done in the hopes of removing the travel advisory. Knowing this place, it will fade away soon though;)

I know some Mexican men and women from other parts of the country who are disgusted with the cat-calling guys here. You are right about them being behind the times, but yes, change is happening for sure. It's always so interesting to see first hand the similarities and differences in cultures. That's why we chose to live in and "authentic" Mexican neighborhood as opposed to the newer 'gringo' developments :) And we figured it would be a lot easier to learn Spanish as well...eventually we need someone to talk to besides each other haha

Thanks for the lengthy response Glen...are you trying to steal my crown by the way? :)

( In my family, we call that half-kidding haha)

Maybe I am, and maybe I'm not, although, it would seem to me, that if I were going about that in the right way, I'd try to avoid conversing with you, because it also helps you to keep it, right? :)

As it is, I'll need to talk to a bazillion other people to EARN your crown, and they'll have to talk back to me. So far, you, Gillian, Dave and Blondie are the only ones who do that. Come to think of it, Blondie's not been around, either. Maybe I should go find out what he's up to. :)

Regardless, some comments require lengthier responses. And when I get going...

I was just messing with you; I really do enjoy your comments, because they are always so thoughtful and I learn something new...which I love. Blondie has been laying low a bit, not being too engaged.

So are you saying that people don't respond to your comments?

And if there comes a day, when I pass my crown to you, it will be done with honour :) You are a wonderful conversationalists and I appreciate you and all of the information in that big ol' brain of yours!

Not always, which is fine, and then there's the folks who thank you for stopping by without really engaging at all. Okay, I'll leave.

Not all comments require full blown conversations. Some just don't warrant it, and so that's fine, but some people just don't engage that much. Probably because they have a life, and I admittedly spend as much time as I can trying to build up my presence here on Steemit. So, that's just the way it goes.

I can't say the information is in my brain. A lot of it lately comes from Google, as I get interested in what's being said or shown, like your street murals. I looked up some information about a mural dragosroua saw in Valencia during his vacation there and didn't get him to respond to that at all. Of course, he was on vacation, so who knows if he saw it.

Aside from trying to strike up a conversation, I do it to fill in the blanks, and when others don't show interest, then I still end up more knowledgeable in the end. No worries.

You're right about some not engaging much at all; I just figure out who they are, and decide how much I need them or not. Most of the time it's 'not'.

What did we ever do before Google? A set of encyclopedias? The library? Books? yikes...seems so archaic, but I have to say I loved libraries...still do.

And yes, you become more knowledgeable regardless of anyone else's engagement. That is a good thing!

Have a great night Glen. I think I'm shutting it down now! Nice chatting ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69093.99
ETH 3768.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44