You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Defend Yourself Against @GrumpyCat

in #delegation6 years ago

I don't think you got where I was going with spam and whale downvotes. I meant the whales would downvote anything whether it was spam or not because of the memo spamming.

The way the bots work now the whales get at least 125% of what they auto vote with their SP(through the money people pay and curation). This just allows the system to spam and trash post on. Removing the bots would force them to invest in human curation or risk losing everything.

Yeah, that's not true. The bots actually are responsible for curation communities. Those would go away. You'd actually have less curation because most people would curate solo instead of through a group vetting process. This would lead to less curation, not more.

That is why I like human curation, it doesn't reward trash.
^^ What we have now through bots. Bot maintainers manage blacklists and communities on discord for curating content. Without bots, those would go away.

I would rather not have a system that allows the whales to just sit back and make money without putting back into the community.
Again, this is exactly why bots are valuable because it allows whales to put back into a community.

Without which, whales would just self-vote and "sit back and make money ..."

I think you don't trust what I'm saying, but it's not speculation. A world without bots is what we used to have. I don't have to speculate on what it would be like without bots. Steemit has already been there.

As I said before, bots are a symptom, not a problem. It's simply what has come out naturally from an inflated economy and a reward pool run by whales. If you get rid of bots, it doesn't get rid of the problem. It may get worse because it's the community's answer to the problem.

Sort:  

I don't think you got where I was going with spam and whale downvotes. I meant the whales would downvote anything whether it was spam or not because of the memo spamming.

What person would start flagging someone for making a nice or thought provoking comment on their post? It's simple don't send unsolicited stuff to people and you won't get flagged.

Yeah, that's not true. The bots actually are responsible for curation communities. Those would go away. You'd actually have less curation because most people would curate solo instead of through a group vetting process. This would lead to less curation, not more.

Curation is merely a fancy world for upvoting something. So without votes people would suddenly stop upvoting? I have a hard time believing that that's what you meant, but it is what you are saying. People would just vote on what they like, and since the trending page wouldn't be full of rubbish aside possible from whale self/circle upvotes people would easly be able to see what other people were voting on if they wanted to jump on the bandwagon.

^^ What we have now through bots. Bot maintainers manage blacklists and communities on discord for curating content. Without bots, those would go away.

Have you looked at the trending pages lately? I've seen rubbish that was getting $900 because they paid like 15 upvote bots to upvote them. It wasn't plagiarized, but at most the post was worth $5-10 and that's being super generous. This is happening all the time if that was to go away I'd be happy.

Without which, whales would just self-vote and "sit back and make money ..."

There have been whales since the beginning of Steemit. All of the "big whales" like ned, dan, Johl and the likes have been here since early 2016. If they wanted to flag some small whale investor for self voting then they would and many of them have at times. But you are allowed to vote yourself, how is self upvoting any different than paying for someone to vote for you? Just turns out others are able to flag you for the self upvote or paid vote. or really any other reason.

The truth of the situation is many Investors bought steem because like jerry bansfield did YT videos on how you can invest in steem and just self upvote( I just watched the video last night. This brought in a lot of money, raising the value of steem. So if the real whales started downvoting the investors heavily it would stop others from investing. So to compensate for this voting bots were introduced. But where exactly does the voting bot's SP come from? The same would be self upvoters.

As My post said I'm not apposed to the use of bots, They can be very useful. but I am apposed to AUTO upvote bots. Because of all the reasons I mentioned. That being said I don't think they are going anywhere and If the day came that I decided that I would want to use them, I would probably just use the ones that certain investors don't Flag.

I've seen some of your posts and I don't think that you post garbage and I'm sorry that you got flagged on them. There are other voting bots that don't get you flagged maybe you should just use those. Or fight your fight. It's a free Steemit, that comes with some very good and very negative consequences. I just believe that it would be better if it was human curation(up and down votes) I don't think we will convinces each other differently. But thanks for the convo. Feel free to respond. To be frank I don't care that you or anyone uses auto upvote bots. I just really don't like garbage being so highly rewarded. (I do not think that you post garbage, FYI.)

Did you actually read my post? I sorta laid my case out. I would like to see human curated upvote platforms, where you pay a fee to be read and they decided if and what it's worth. It would just feel better. I don't think I'm the only one who would appreciate something like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62