Prepping the homestead for deer

in #deer7 years ago (edited)

Ever since the first day we moved here, it has been a passion of mine to get the trail cameras up and turn a few acres of the property in a deer haven! After digging out the camera from the moving boxes, buying batteries and finding the memory cards, I was able to put up a few trail camera.

After about 5 days I went out and checked the cameras and it was with great enthusiasm that I started seeing deer, and other wilderness friends such as raccoons, possum, and two coyotes. I am still in the NC mindset that deer hunting is a mere two weeks away, and reality sets in and I have to wait until November.

I do not have a bow or black powder, however I am hoping that for my anniversary, Christmas or my birthday I get a bow.

Anyway I figured I would share with you all a few photos.
[img][/img]

This was rather interesting. Kinda reminds me of Bambi! Ha Ha
[img][/img]

I made this deer feeder once before when I was stationed in eastern NC. I strapped it to the tree and the majority of my photos were raccoons just feeding away. It was frustrating. On my property I have a huge hoop house and found some extra support poles. I used the support poles to make a tripod, elevating the feeder up enough to keep the raccoons out and let the deer feed.
[img][/img]

With 5, sometimes 6 does coming to the homestead, I am certain that within a few weeks I should start seeing antlers on the camera. Fingers are crossed!

Thanks for looking and have a great day!

Kenny

Sort:  

Just getting ready to start filling mine here in Oklahoma.

With the mild summer we've had, It should be a good season. Hoping to take 6, between me and my wife.

Wish I had 6 tags....I did in NC but the deer there were hunted hard and pretty small.

That is very cool!

Good day @pfeilerfam5 I appreciate all the info and hard work thank you :) Followed

Congratulations @pfeilerfam5! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pfeilerfam5! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great trail camera shots!

Sunday is opening day here of bow season. My husband is chomping at the bit. We didn't get anything last year and my freezer is crying for venison. Plus I want to make venison jerky and chili.

Good luck and happy hunting!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pfeilerfam5 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30