Living in the moment

in #deepshit7 years ago

I spent a whole day writing and rolling around in bed. It was way more productive than it sounds. Recently I get so engrossed in writing or steemit or studying crypto or something else that two or three hours pass and I don't even realize it.

This is a stark change from the days I spent with nothing, roaming around the city, or the days I hung out with you musician and artist friends who don't have busy work schedules. If I'm not careful, I forget to look around and enjoy the scenery, to remember that I'm alive.

If I'm not careful, I might fall off my horse.

IMG_1680.JPG
image link

To snap back out of my mind and back into full enjoyment of sensory input, I decided to go out for dinner and leave my mobile device at home. I thought it might be a better for me then constantly checking coinmarketcap to see if Bitcoin had hit $20,000 yet.

I noticed the scurrying of different stimuli as I walked to the restaurant. I focused on my breathing as I waited for my food. I paid close attention to the flavors and orders and textures that entered my face. I perceived the hints of others experiences in their facial expressions and body language.

"This is what life used to be like." I thought.

"No....this is what life IS like when we just ARE." I corrected myself.

Don't forget to taste the food as it enters your mouth. To hear the music and chaos around you. To smell the wind and even all the trash as you walk down the sidewalk. The food was life and now it gives you life. Everything you see has its own story. How often do you realize it?

Rub your hand across an object. You can ponder the fact that your nervous system is so wonderful as to inform you of the existence of that object. Or not. Either way, enjoy it. Holy shit. You're alive.

This is living life in the moment.

Have a nice day.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (a collection of short stories)

Sort:  

I see you have gotten to the tracks of mindfulness whether you did it intentionally or not. But you can call it whatever you want; it's just a popularized easy-to-understand -term for westerns who can't or don't want to grasp all the eastern "buddhis-monk stuff".

It's a great stress and anxiety reliever in the long run when practiced regularly.

I never really looked into mindfulness, I always just kind of assumed I was doing it already from the word itself and a quick Wikipedia scan a long time ago. I'm glad its popular if helps people relax more and enjoy life more. It gives me super powers! X-D

Everything you see has its own story. How often do you realize it?

Not as often as I would like to, but leaving the smartphone at home or keeping it in Airplane mode helps a lot. Great post, by the way - I have been thinking a lot about this lately. :)

Beautifully put! Thanks for reminding me to keep breathing (or being aware of my breathing) while reading this post, to enjoy my coffee (while checking Steemit and discord), to be in the now and using all my senses. Even enjoying the feeling of my fingers typing on my laptop's keyboard, the itching of my forehead and so on.

No kidding, just like you I am 'aware' of the importance of being (fully, if that is even possible) in the moment but that doesn't make it easy. It's way easier though when we disconnect - or better - leave our devices at home. Something human beings rarely do these days. Yesterday night, when I went to sleep, I left my laptop downstairs. To make sure that I wouldn't stay awake two more hours, spending time on Discord and Steemit. I still had my smartphone next to me though. It's often as if I can't make it leave my side, like a siamese twin. Let alone shut it off.

Keep sharing these important life lessons buddy!

P.S. Yesterday, my parents had friends over for dinner. It was a couple my age with a 16 month old son. The little kid was already used to smartphones and I believe it could swipe. Kind of creepy.

A title for a possible movie entered my mind:

"The Zombie Generation"

Who knows, I might make that movie one day.

Recently I cut everything I was doing online almost down to nothing, and engaged my vacation mode. It feels wonderful to be honest.

I started in Steemit 6 days ago. I stumbled across it and, having had my head down in a drop shipper business for 18 months, I saw it as a timely bit of synchronicity to get back to living the unfolding path. In fact, that is what I plan on making the main topic of my introductory post.

Only problem is there's so much to learn here and as the week's gone on I got more and more excited and now I feel I've gone down the rabbit hole with Steemit. Exactly as I did with the drop shipping. I'm trying to relax and take it one day at a time but today I've been like a kid in a candy store - posting, commenting, chatting to people. All in the moment I suppose. It's just that it's not felt very conscious.

Anyway, I was happy to find your post and will be looking out for more. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62499.32
ETH 2450.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66