You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Advice From A Reformed Hoarder Part II: Tackling Large Collections

in #declutter7 years ago

Well I have an equally long story if not longer but I will keep it short. Been there, seen it, done it. Still have a ton of things but living in a smaller place now and still purging. I still have way too many clothes but I stopped shopping. What I have done at this point works for now, however sadly I now have to go and clean out my mothers 3,000 sq ft home full of so so so much stuff. I feel like I am drowning. Yikes. Good for you though...Be Proud

Sort:  

Oh man, that's hard to deal with! Good luck with your mom's place. Have you heard of "Swedish Death Cleaning"? The premise is basically, clean with the idea of not wanting to leave behind gobs of stuff for others to deal with if you pass away. You do this t any age. I kind of think of that, too now. "My mom would be so mad if she had to deal with my hoarding of stuff."

Yes I have heard of it. I have the opposite thought now, as I realized several years ago that I was following in their footsteps. So I have become the queen of purging. Now I am trying hard not to be angry, bitter etc at the hordes of things that have been left for me to deal with. Trying to be kind, helpful,considerate all the while thinking to myself WTF were you thinking with all this stuff.

Congrats on your journey! And sorry for the hardship. Maybe you had to take your own journey first to be able to deal with this?

Thank you and yes, that is true..as this is huge and thank you for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34