Can You Be Friends With Those You Disagree With? Let's Talk About It.

in #debate7 years ago (edited)

Recently on Facebook there is a trend of people unfriending others for disagreeing on what candidate they are voting for, or holding a different opinion on the Black Lives Matter group, even Religion.

Personally, I enjoy a healthy debate with someone who doesn't get angry and who can calmly articulate their position.  

How do you deal with your friend whom you disagree with?

Sort:  

No! You can't be friends with those you disagree with.
You must hate with extreme vitriol everyone who does not have 100% the same views as yourself.

This post is not newspeak.

I disagree with you wholeheartedly! Everybody must learn to get along!

Unfollowed and I'll flag all your posts until you see things my way! Nyah!

I'm looking for a sarcasm emote, but not finding one.
Upvoted, promoted and resteemed!

Thanks, hmm, we have to get that sarcasm emote written up and off to development!

I disagree with you, but we steel could be friends !
=]]]

Just wanted to say that this post is seriously underrated, but extremely topical, interesting and relevant. I've promoted it a little but I'd love to see more commentary in here. This is an important topic. Come on guys! It's social media, be sociable!!!

Thank you @williambanks I like trying to get conversations going at least every couple of days. Really nice of you to promote it.

Unfortunately there is a social etiquette in Steemit in general. Those who don't behave in a certain way get punished one way or another from the top influencers-—the whales.

I think part of the problem trying to aspire to what major social networks do like Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr. Political correctness and agreeability creates often a massive jerk circle or self reassurance that can generate income on people saying "me too".

This is why founders of all social media push towards a passive and "peaceful/positive" attitude rather than real debates. Also, most pople do not know jack shit about most issues and they see every single argument as an attack on themselves. Idiocracy more or less.

pathetic, but this is how thing are.

I really enjoyed reading your post yesterday and responses, honestly since I have been trying to get conversations going, so I was nearly jealous. (not in the mean-spirited way)

@whatsup, I'm friends with a lot of people and most don't see my way, but I don't wish to change the way they think. I dont care to win an argument nor do I wish to argue my point. Awesome post.

@whatsup, please try to win my seceond contest. Lol

Thanks for stopping by... Want to fight?

@whatsup, I want to fight so darn bad.

The only person I've been tempted to unfriend is not someone who I disagree with on the substance of most issues. He's just so angry and hateful about it that I don't want him jamming up my feed and making me look bad.

Yes, but I would say, you unfriended him due to his/her attitude due to attitude vs. opinion.

i find it hard to be friends with ppl who i dont respect..

That can be true for me as well, but usually not based just on their "beliefs".

In fact, I have friend from my childhood. With whom we are completely disagree on some political issues.
Some times we do a visit with a families to each other and after couple of glasses of wine we have really strong arguing.
Usually we all know it is going to happen.
And time to time we start it on a purpose.
These disputes have become our new tradition, for some time now. And I am glad it did not affect our friendship.
Wish you all good friends, no mater what !!!
=]

This sounds like an awesome friendship. :) I would enjoy this friend.

This is very interesting, I was watching something about this yesterday, and they used the wonderful phrase saying: Facebook algorithm has turned the site into an echo chamber.

So yeah, unfriending because of not agreeing 100% is to be expected; sad, but to be expected.

Cg

Yes, I like the term echo chamber. I want to hear differences.

I have no problems with being "friends" on fb with people who have different views, unless they are actively trying to make me change my opinion - here I mean not healthy discussion, but mere persuasion without trying to understand my viewpoint.
In real life usually people with significantly different opinions are not my friends, but rather acquaintances and people I do interact from time to time. Friends usually are those who mostly agree with me or at least understand me.
Although, I think it's very good to hear out and think about opinions of other people which do not comply with your own. This is the way we learn and grow, otherwise we would stuck within our opinions and beliefs and stop the self-development.

I really like that you point out, if they are trying to change your mind, that can be very challenging. I was thinking more of friends hashing through an issue, maybe agreeing to disagree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79