Are You Using Your Vote To Promote What You Want To See More Of On SteemIt? Your Vote Is Your Power.

in #debate8 years ago

Many people post/talk about being unhappy with the trending page, or not liking the value of this post or that one.  It has been discussed that what we like or want to see more of is relative to our personal preferences.  

However, are you using your vote to help mold SteemIt, or are you using it to make the most curation rewards possible?

I can not blame you either way, as I have been excited about earning some easy Steem myself.  However, as we grow, I have made a decision to voice my opinion of content with my vote.  It is easy to lose sight of long-term goals in becoming focused on short-term rewards.

It is not my intention to criticize anyone or tell anyone what to vote on.  I just want to encourage everyone to promote what you want to see more of.  I personally want more diversity, I want to see articles on parenting, sports, special interests, science, view points, etc.  I want to use my vote to support new-users and minnows who are swimming upstreem to get noticed.

What are you using your votes to support?  Do your actions help mold SteemIt in the direction you want to see it grow?

@whatsup



Sort:  

@whatsup, I'm not upvoting @alexanova. I look but don't touch. Steem On dude!

lol, my post isn't about her. She brought out great debate and forced many of us to think about our position. Suddenly others felt free to post more of that type of content. Over time, we shall see what people want to support. :) I am not judging what people vote on, just whether or not they are using their vote to voice their preferences.

@whatsup, I'm laughing here. When I saw her post, I was so confused. Smiling big. I peek but don't poke....promise

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it.

If I don't like it I don't vote even if I know it will do well.

Good for you!

That´s a very important issue, thanks for sharing! Upped and resteemed.
I vote according to the theory that 'every person you meet knows something you don´t'. I am not here for the money, but for the knowledge. So every post which teaches me something new or shows me a different point of view gets my vote. Furtheremore I almost comment on every article I vote for to give the author a feedback and thank him/her for the contribution. It´s a form of respect. Finally I reblog the posts (like yours) which I consider especially important and worth receiving even more attention.
PS: I don´t give votes on articles I don´t read. I don´t trust in names neither headlines. No bots, not trails, no voting services. Our vote is the most valuable power we have here, so it should not be given away.

Thank you for the support and the resteem. I also think it is important to think about what our votes mean.

Eventually every vote counts to support the users and steem itself I guess

Agreed. For the most part. There are things on SteemIt, I would like to see more of. And somethings/people I would like to see less of. ;)

Most of the time.

This is a good answer. Me too. I decided this morning I would like to commit to considering each vote. Is this what I want to promote and encourage.

Not saying everyone else has to follow that mold.

be realistic though. that's not true. that's the fairytale we get from above and are somewhat indoctrinated to preach down. Take tombstone vote out of this post that seems successful and what do you have? a 1$ post at best.
also: 11 views and 107 votes.
be real, man.

I am not saying my post reflects what we have now, my post reflects an idea to be accepted or denied as you see fit.

Thank you for the comment.

yeah well that's an empty statement imho. it's a call to an action that has no consequences but makes you think you're doing something.
A better call would be for actual democracy and a way for your voice to matter not to fantasize that it does.
To each his own.

Why would it make any sense to have a democracy, and what about the bots? It seems we are both engaging in fantacy.

ya well. at least i am not under any illusion that my vote matters.

Yet.... :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.98 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's why I'm involved in the SteemTrail curation effort. I curate posts for the @foraging-trail and the @gardening-trail. My effort is more about building community around those topics than maximizing today's monetary rewards. I'm after authentic experience, personal perspectives, and original photos. People stick around over the long haul because they are part of a community of friends. And it gives new folks a focus, instead of being overwhelmed by the open terrain of writing about any subject possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61