What do you say to someone who lost a loved one?

in #death8 years ago

Recently a friend of mine told me that their cousin passed away due to  cancer. My immediate reaction was "I'm sorry to hear that." When I said it, I was genuinely upset and sympathetic for the pain that they were feeling, but when I think about what I said, it doesn't make much sense. So this leads me to wonder about the common things people say in this situation:

  • "I'm sorry to hear that." - Well too bad, you heard it.
  • "What happened?" - Really? You want them to re-live the trauma by retelling it?
  • "My condolences." - Wow you really put some effort into that one.
  • "Sorry for your loss." - This isn't an account balance, it's someone's life.
  • "You're in our thoughts and prayers." - Yeah I don't even want to touch this one.
  • "That's terrible." - You don't say?

What should someone say when they hear this news? I can' t figure it out. I guess there's nothing you can really say to improve the situation. When I hear such awful news, I want to acknowledge to the person that I feel bad for them and I hope they deal with the situation as best as possible and don't become depressed because of it. How do you communicate this without being belittling?

I think the next time this happens, I'll just be quiet and not say anything. Maybe that's the appropriate response.

Sort:  

I tend to say something along the line of "If you need anything, let me know.", or "don't hold in the tears, it's fine to be sad for a while", or similar.
^ I'm not good at the emotional stuff. So I try to base it on logic and psychology. <.<

Congratulations @tutley! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tutley! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63