You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mom's Cancer is Terminal

in #death7 years ago

Cherish every minute that she has left. I'm so sorry to hear the sad news you're going through. Facing the death of loved ones is never easy. I remember when my Poppop was dying of bone cancer, and he was trying to "put on a strong face" in front of us because he thought that's what he was supposed to do. When the funeral came, I was devastated inside, yet, the moment my little, sweet cousin looked up into my face, I suddenly thought, "I have to be brave for her. I'm older than them. I'm the one that has to set the example." So I set her on my lap and hid my pain. And I didn't let myself cry or grieve like I was supposed to. I held it all in. And it was unhealthy for me. It was years later, when I finally realized that that didn't make me any stronger. It just made me carry the pain a bit heavier... Then my Great Uncle became like a Poppop figure to me. I helped cook meals for him and heard his stories and drove over whenever I could to just be there and sit with him as he watched his favorite cowboy shows on TV. I was able to introduce him to my fiance. My Great Uncle said he wanted to come to my wedding. But no matter how he tried to hang on in time, he couldn't make it. He died a month before my wedding. It was like another hole sunk down into my heart, but this time, I had comfort in the fact that I was there for him as much as I could be, and this time, I let the tears go. I moved away when I got married, and then I call my Mommom, who misses Poppop soooo much. But she was crying hysterically because that was the very moment she found out that her oldest daughter, my Aunt just passed away. And there was nothing I could do. I couldn't drive or fly a thousand miles away to be there and hug my family, and it hurt so bad. I grew up very close with my family, especially with my Mom and sisters and I love teasing my Dad. But that week, it was rough. I looked through the texts from my Aunt, and I realized that I had made her smile when she really needed it. My Mom told me that every time my Aunt was sad, that was the moment that I sent her a text, and it made her happy. I can't text her anymore. She won't answer me. And as the years go by, the numbers of funerals I've been to for friends and family is staggering. I totally understand the feeling of being tired of all the deaths, and going to so many funerals. But when I can, I go anyway. Why? So I can be there to hug the others who are hurting. It's a part of the healing process. If that death hurts, it means you loved that person. And that love was worth having. Hold that love for your Mom while you can. Hug her so that you don't regret Not hugging her. Fix it so that when the pain of loss comes, then you can say, I loved my Mom, and I hugged her before she said goodbye. And I would like to say your post was not bad at all. You are sharing your pain, and that is healthy and good for you to express it. Just remember, closing the distance Now will give you some comfort when you remember it later. I hope this has been a help to you. There's so much more I could say, but I'll stop, as I've already written a book's worth... Lol. But seriously, hug your Mom. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72