You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death’s Rocket

in #death7 years ago

@boxcarblue, your post is a profound one. It caught my eye, because as a Christian, it is also not easy to explain death to a child. I agree with so many of your notions, except of course that I believe that I will one day be resurrected in a glorified form before my Father. However, I have huge respect for the way that you keep on explaining to your child. In fact, your post is so profound for me, that I will print it for myself, reread it, and maybe make a separate post, also referring to yours, of course.

My first experience of having to try to explain was when a random pigeon was found dead on the roof. I used the idea of the soul moving to another place, an afterlife, if you will, and that is the reason that there is a lifeless body on the roof. Dead. My son immediately summarized it as follows: So, it is the eyes' "look and see", the ears' "hear and listen", and the body's "do" that is gone to another plane, even though the eyes and ears and body are still there.

As the pigeon was inaccessible on the roof, we all watched it slowly disintegrating until there was nothing left.

Sadly, my children grew up and became non-believers for now. Now my comment is almost becoming a post in itself. You did ask some uncomfortable questions, even for me as a Christian. I wish we could have the opportunity to discuss this whole issue around a fire and a glass of wine. (South Africans, you see, do deep discussions around a fire...!)

Sort:  

That sounds like a great way to have a discussion. I don’t know how much I could discuss my belief in the afterlife, though, or what happens at death. Like I said, I don’t really know what I believe, and I only happened on this rocket ship analogy by chance, because of my son’s suggestion

One thing that really struck me in your comment is the way your son was able to rephrase your explanation. It’s really interesting the way children process and make sense of information. I’ve always loved my own son’s rocket response. It was so quick and natural, like, Oh. Of course. That’s when I was flying in my rocket ship. I got it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71