You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mom's Cancer is Terminal

in #death7 years ago

I had a similar situation this year when my father was diagnosed with prostate cancer. It's quite advanced and although he is undergoing treatment it is not a matter of if but when. This is complicated by the fact that my parents emigrated many years ago!

I made a decision to not dwell on the negatives of the situation but rather, try and create as many positive situations as I could. I call a lot more than I did, I visit more and I try and take much more of an interest in his life, not just in the medical details!

My Mum calls it building memories but I have taken him to a couple of events he really wanted to go to and I watch sports he is interested in to give us more in common! I am actually really enjoying the sports and it's great to connect with him in a different way to previously!

I would never dream of telling you what you should do but I've found this has really helped me deal with the situation and come to terms with it. I hope my father has enjoyed our bonding as much as I have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79