How cheap life can be...

in #death6 years ago

This weekend someone I know and saw just a couple of days before was murdered. Shot in the head by armed robbers.


img source

Did I know him well?

Not really, didn't even know his last name, but for the last couple of months we have interacted many times on a project cleaning up an irrigation canal. He worked for one of the other guys helping to clean the canal and acted as a sort of foreman since he was more skilled than the rest of the team.

Its a sad tale really about being in the wrong place at the wrong time many times over and it can all be linked back to the despotic government we have had for the last couple of decades in Zimbabwe.

Here is a guy, reasonably intelligent, educated and semi-skilled. forced out of his own country due to the corrupt government impoverishing its people. Here he and millions like him are forced to try to find work in South Africa or they and their families starve at home.

In the time I spent with him he was pretty good with a chainsaw and could be trusted with things you couldn't give to just anyone.

Well spoken and obviously reasonably educated but here he was earning minimum wage in South Africa doing menial tasks as a farm laborer because of corrupt politicians and a corrupt government ruining their own economy.

Trying to earn a little extra on the side he worked at the informal bottle store nearby on weekends and on Saturday, while trying to earn a little extra to send home to his family, he was gunned down.

All quite senseless actually, a guy in harms way, very far from home due to due to policies and practices of those in power, who should have been looking out for their own citizens... not forcing them to compete for meager resources in a land not their own.

Sort:  

In the time I spent with him he was pretty good with a chainsaw and could be trusted with things you couldn't give to just anyone.

Sounds like a big loss.

Was he just a random victim of armed robbery? I'd love to know how to avoid the same fate.

PS I keep trying to upvote this post on steemit.com but keep getting the following error:

RPCError: Assert Exception:o.weight != 0: Vote weight cannot be 0.

Frustrating! CC @steemitblog @steemit

Was finally able to upvote the original post using busy.org (CC @busy.org).

Toronto a "peaceful" city has seen unprecedented gun violence. Very disturbing considering guns are outright banned to purchase (unless you are vetted with a license).

I don't think this is specifically a phenomena focused merely in Zimbabwe; the world is becoming increasingly violent and polarized.

That's really sad. :(
Hopefully the thug gets arrested.

This is disheartening to hear @gavvet. How will the family even survive now? The government should find ways and policies to strengthen the world security system. It is quite unfortunate that someone like this who loved honest labor is killed for no just reason, his own property. I hope that the family can survive this season.

So sorry for the loss @gavvet

I just watched Saghuru talk about how we have to remind ourselves that we're alive and be grateful for it.
Minutes later I see your post on Steemit.
Synchronicity of life is beautiful.

here's the talk by the way

Peace, Love, Gratitude

Synchronicity is amazing. You've got a new follower!

@gavvet im sorry youve lost a potential friend and someone whos made a positive influence on your real life, I think this note of rememberance and humility in the face of this tragedy is something they wpuld have respected. Much love, hope your spirit is well.

the story is typical of a black novel ... Lately the genre has seemed very interesting and once I buy black novel books, now with your contribution made me want to buy more as I finish some books that I read, greetings and my respects great prose and the story of one captures the reader, my support with my vote .. good content.

I didn't get the impression this is fiction. Sadly it's the reality not only in Zimbabwe but many other places too

I apologize, I refer to the style of the crime novel, yes, I am from Venezuela a dangerous country in which we also live the harsh reality of crime, it is rectified in the harsh reality and it is unfortunate, only referring to the genre novel Black thinking that it was a fiction story and I see that it was real. My respects and I apologize for an error on my part.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sorry boet....sux and upsets me. ARGH

Hi. %10 upvoted. if you send 0.05 sbd %100 vote and resteem (2760 Followers) Manuel upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79