Death metal is often violent and misogynist yet it brings joy and empowerment to fans?

in #death6 years ago

A friend the other day shared this link with me and just thought I'd share my thoughts with you guys:

https://theconversation.com/death-metal-is-often-violent-and-misogynist-yet-it-brings-joy-and-empowerment-to-fans-91909?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Latest%20from%20The%20Conversation%20for%20February%2022%202018%20-%2095238171&utm_content=Latest%20from%20The%20Conversation%20for%20February%2022%202018%20-%2095238171+CID_6f16f8116d42744da6b0e221f7baa50e&utm_source=campaign_monitor&utm_term=Death%20metal%20is%20often%20violent%20and%20misogynist%20yet%20it%20brings%20joy%20and%20empowerment%20to%20fans

Seems that they haven't done much research, it all seems pretty much based on Cannibal Corpse.

I see Death, black and other forms of extreme music/art as a platform to express strong emotions. That can come out in any form/shape/political/social view. You can get nazi, extreme right-wing, homophobic, mysognystic music, that's true. But you also get extreme left-wing, pro-nature, social struggle, feminist, etc. And anything in between and beyond. There's anarchist and christian death metal for instance. So everyone can have their pick!

A famous female death metal singer, Angela Gossow:

But I must agree that unfortunately there is lots of sexism in metal and rock (and in the world in general, I guess music just reflects that). But then you get big metal icons, like Rob Halford (Judas Priest) in the 90s, who in a world full of muscled macho men came out of the closet and broke many machoman fans hearts (but also was praised by many, like me!).

As with music 'taxonomies' I would take them as a guide of how it sounds/the feelings it evokes, but that must also be taken with a pinch of salt (can vary greatly between groups).

Usually, I would say that death metal is more about the individual. And it's brutal. No matter how much the environment presses you, you stay strong (and as much strong as it takes) to remain yourself and true to your beliefs.

Black metal, on the contrary, is more focused on the environment. There's lots of music about the planet, nature, mysticism, ancient beliefs...

Another common element of black is fear (but I personally get more scared when I see the viewcount on youtube of Nicki Minaj's videos).

But as I was saying, you could get death metal about saying how grateful you are to have a job in Maccas and how right is your boss for lowering your salary to $1/hour, so it's all really relative.

Anyway, that's my dissertation for today! (you picked a topic that really triggers me hehe)

I'll get back to my grotto now...

Sort:  

Congratulations @crypto-psy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41