You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Dear Dawne" Live Today! - Get A "Pro" To Check Out Your Blog (the line starts forming..3..2..1..NOW)

in #deardawne7 years ago

Thank you again @mccoy for yet another help-the-newbies project! Very recently I heard about @goldendawne, her stature in the community and most of all her recent initiatives to mentor lost newbies, like me! It's an incredibly generous offer and I desperately need it. However I am not certain how to initiate contact or "get registered".

Sort:  

Hey @kismel2018... you are free to ask @goldendawne any questions by directly replying to this post or even just commenting to her below. That is the point, no registration needed ;)

So ask her anything and she will help you, she is fantastic! And she really wants to see you succeed.

For this post, all you have to do is ask a question. I will do my best to answer your concern and direct you to what should be done and how to improve what you're already doing.

GREAT that you've heard my name floating around; as I do tend to make some big dents in the steemit realm and offer assistance.

Thank you @goldendawne and @davemccoy...

My head is so very full of info right now. Not sure of "next steps. There are so many "aids", contests, challenges, chats, communities, groups. I am literally sitting here, still feeling excited but knowing I need to make a plan in order to put into practice at least some of this info.

If you had to give me one important "next step" action item, what will it be? I have not mustered enough courage to do an Introduction blog yet. I don't suppose that is doing me huge benefit. So apart from the Intro Blog, what do you suggest I do next?

I would recommend getting a notebook. Write down the contests, challenges and whatever else interests you. Then after each topic/contest/challenge you wrote down first, write a post headline/title that you could write about. After you have your list, pick the one that REALLY draws you in the most.

Doing the process of elimination with your notebook will not only help you get organized but also help you feel less overwhelmed. I am a huge notebook/journal and list maker and this always helps keep me organized and on task.

After a short time of doing the notebook with ideas you will settle into a routine and know how to better keep on task. I still use a notebook; only because I am VERY OCD.

I must say I am breathing easier and verrry grateful for your helpful tips and suggestions! Guess what? I just got back from the Dollar Store with a notebook for Steemit! When I got to my desk, I drew an "S" on it for "Steemit", logged into Steemit and saw your message suggesting I do the same thing! Cool eh?! I had many sheets of paper and I needed the info in a book instead!

Here is my first specific question re this part of your article:

"Using LARGE steemit tags- Maybe you want a larger fish, dolphin, whale or curator to see your post. So many people use tags like promo-steem, ocd-resteem, adsactly, etc."

Here are my questions ...

What's the protocol around this practice?
Who can use these tags?
How often?
Cost anything?
If the point is to catch attention of "Large" curators, why don't folks use these three listed, for example, or any others like them all the time?
Is it something that is widely used, acceptable, requires delicate handling?
Can anyone use any tag?

Re tags in general ... those same questions might apply. Can anyone use any tag?

Thank you again for this!

20180207_143513.jpg

Ok- let's break this down-

  • What's the protocol around this practice? RE; using LARGE,or trending tags, anyone can use them that is true... but keep this in mind. MANY newcomers to steemit who are here only for a quick buck will use trending tags, follow (relentlessly) whales and high dolphins- which will eventually become a problem. If you go to a whale's post you will see tons and tons of newbies leaving comments like "good post", "great information", "thank you my friend"- and when you see those comments, how often do the whales reply back? Are they getting noticed? Perhaps, but not in a positive way. SO be careful when wanting to "tag" only in the trending ones.
  • How often? You can make as any posts in a day on steemit as you want. BUT... caution of warning, if you post A LOT it will clutter the feed and your followers may get irritated. Last week I did a post about how much is too much for posting. Read it and see my comments and the replies from other members.It may help you figure out where you want to be.
  • Cost anything? Not sure what this means, maybe you can elaborate.
  • If the point is to catch attention of "Large" curators, why don't folks use these three listed, for example, or any others like them all the time? It doesn't always work like that. Curators, like myself, don't always go to the same tags over and over again. I am a muxxybot curator and I go looking for newer members posts that have quality and original content, image that are sourced not only correctly but also classified as approved for commercial re-use (see the pinned message in the newbieresteem Discord group that I made as to where to find these images). There are MANY criterias that need to be met for a top curator to UPvote and find you.
  • Is it something that is widely used, acceptable, requires delicate handling?
  • Can anyone use any tag? Anyone can use any tag BUT it HAS TO be related to the post. EXAMPLE- if you continually use the introduceyourself tag and you've been on here for one or two months, have already posted your intro... trust me... there are members who will find you and flag the post. Not only do members watch for copy/paste, plagiarism, etc but they also look for people who abuse tags.

Wheww Girl! Your response was exhaustive and thorough! Many thanks yet again!

Thank you specifically for the "about how much is too much for posting" link! It was very useful! If I knew how to post it here, I would!

I could relate a little to the "Cluttered Feed" and your comments on "Resteeming". Again, I have questions regarding protocol, benefits, risks of Resteeming.

When I Resteem, it's motivated by wanting to encourage AND to share good information. Another reason is to be able to locate a post for further research and study. I don't know if that is right or wrong.

When I asked about "Cost" in my original post, I meant does it cost in steem power or SBD to resteem or upvote? Which functions do "cost"?

Old Posts: Other than encouraging a person, and getting lots of great information, is there any financial benefit in upvoting, commenting, resteeming any old posts?

Chat Rooms: I haven't spent much time in the Chat Rooms because so much is going on in there and I really am not "getting it", yet! Having said that, I know I am missing out on excellent initiatives for newbies there.

I would love to learn how to make pretty posts, like you and @davemccoy - hehe. I don't know yet how to do different sizes, types and colors of fonts ...

@goldendawne, would you mind scanning my "stuff" and give me your feedback! I need a ton of help but anything you can suggest will be more than I have right now!

Thanks again!

Oh wow @davemccoy and @goldendawne ... in my post above, I was commenting on your posts - fancy fonts, size, color, sweet visuals, etc.

Guess what? I just stumbled into the room of Markdown Styling Guide, saw that it is a "foreign language" and right now I have fled that room! I am catching my breath, going to make a cup of hot water and I will re-enter that zone of "alien communication"! Please tell me that this is doable. Looks like I need IT special computer coding intelligence. However I am very suspicious that I can do it! Here we ago ...one more Steemit discovery!!

@kismet2018 Dawne's advice is very good and she is far more experienced and organized than me. But the one thing I can add that I have found helpful is to keep learning (there is so much more than you know right now still to learn). Sometimes it might seem like information overload, but that is where people like Dawne and I come in. You simply need to ask and we will help to straighten it out.

You have so much more ahead of you, that the goal is to learn how everything is connected. If you continue to learn, you will find out why things are the way they are. Some stop learning and they never get the full benefits. But if you keep asking "why", you will eventually get it, I guarantee you. ;)

You are so right Dave! You nailed it! It's the "connections"!!!! That is exactly what I am trying to understand! I have all kinds of amazing info, all in separate compartments. It's trying to find out how it all fits together is my quest!

I did post specific questions to @ goldendawne earlier re tagging.

I can't say, "Thank you" enough to you and @goldendawne for making your experience and and your time so generously available to us!

If i can use the system to show my appreciation more tangibly, please guide me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64