You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entrance to the Bongensa temple, The Meaning of the Name.

in #dblog5 years ago

Yes, what's in a name, @slowwalker? In the west it seems people have forgotten the meaning of names preferring to call children something that sounds pleasant or unique or has a different spelling.

But what is the purpose of a name?

I believe a name conveys the true essence of a person or thing. For instance, in the Bible God at first had a name unknown to the Jewish people and consequently they didn't know him until Moses went up the holy mountain to meet him and God revealed his name - Yahweh - it meant I am who I am. Very significant.

Your Buddha is also remote - usually worshipped on a high mountain - his name seems to signify without attachment. Perhaps that's the boundary between the physical world and the spiritual realm.

Have a good day, my friend.

Sort:  

@johnjgeddes Long time no see! I'm always impressed by your insightful ideas! In Korean culture, name is significant because we believe that the meaning of name impacts the fate of the human being. Thank you for your comment! Have a nice day.

Thanks. @slowwalker. Yes, I need to spend more time on Steemit curating good posts like yours, my friend - I always get immersed in the writing life but I do appreciate your posts. You always take me places. I value that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84